PDA

View Full Version : Blocking Website



kaindia
25-01-2004, 06:06 PM
Hi,

Can anyone tell me a web address that resolves hostname to IP add.
Tried google but couldnt get a simple one.

I am runnig Sygate Firewall 5. I want to block a website so that any applicatiom i am running does not try to connect automatically every time i go online.

Now is it as simple as getting IP add of website and entering it in Sygate or do i have to get a list/range of IP add for that website.

Thanks

Mike
25-01-2004, 06:25 PM
Try http://whois.net/

There are different versions of Whois from different parts of the world, so if you're wanting to block a European site you might need to find the Europe version of Whois (possibly something like eu.whois.net, but I could be way off).

Cheers,
Mike.

bmason
25-01-2004, 06:56 PM
You can just open up a command prompt and type "ping www.website.com". eg:

C:\WINDOWS>ping www.google.com

Pinging www.google.com [66.102.7.104] with 32 bytes of data:

Reply from 66.102.7.104: bytes=32 time=291ms TTL=238

Ping statistics for 66.102.7.104:
Packets: Sent = 1, Received = 1, Lost = 0 (0% loss),
Approximate round trip times in milli-seconds:
Minimum = 291ms, Maximum = 291ms, Average = 291ms

C:\WINDOWS>

Blocking by IP will only work as long as they don't change their IP. Using your hosts file to map the hostname to 127.0.0.1 might work better.

Gordon.
25-01-2004, 08:39 PM
http://www.apnic.net/info/faq/abuse/index.html

Scroll down to find the map of the world, Nth America, Latin America, Asia, Europe are the four clickable zones.

Also available via WhoIs is DoD, Korea, Japan and Brazil for a start.