PDA

View Full Version : Local network



Richard Morriss
22-01-2004, 09:40 AM
We have 5 assorted PCs in the office on a network. Two run Win98 SP2, two XP Home, 1 XP Pro, and 1 Win2000. Overnight one PC running WIn98 decided without human help to stop accessing the other machines on the network. However, the other machines can access it OK. Our techo man is baffled. How did that happen, and how do you fix it?

Also, the machine running Win2000 is a laptop and was disconnected from the network for the past 2 months. On reconnecting the network cable it no longer sees the network and cannot access any other machine. Unlike the problem above, the other machines cannot access this laptop either. The indicator light for the cable on the hub does not go even when the cable is plugged in. We have checked the cable and connections and all seems OK. As above, our techoman is baffled with this one too. Help!

Billy T
22-01-2004, 03:52 PM
Welcome to PF1 Richard

> We have 5 assorted PCs in the office on a network.
> Two run Win98 SP2, two XP Home, 1 XP Pro, and 1
> Win2000. Overnight one PC running WIn98 decided
> without human help to stop accessing the other
> machines on the network. However, the other machines
> can access it OK. Our techo man is baffled. How did
> that happen, and how do you fix it?

Computers can do some funny things and I have experienced spontaneous changes to network setting etc so start there. Take a look at the gateway address/IP addresses it is trying to use, and review the data in our networking FAQ accessible from the top right of this page.


> Also, the machine running Win2000 is a laptop and was
> disconnected from the network for the past 2 months.
> On reconnecting the network cable it no longer sees
> the network and cannot access any other machine.
> Unlike the problem above, the other machines cannot
> access this laptop either. The indicator light for
> the cable on the hub does not go even when the cable
> is plugged in. We have checked the cable and
> connections and all seems OK. As above, our techoman
> is baffled with this one too. Help!

The hub could be faulty so try another socket and see if that works. Either that or your network card is dead and that could explain why the hub and other computers can't see it. Try another computer into that socket and see what happens.

You (or your techoman) need to take a deep breath then follow a logical diagnostic process. You are aided in that by having several working computers on the network so you can cross-check key settings. Despite the variety of OSs in use, these settings will al be much the same apart from individual IP addresses.

Try all this then post back results or info for congratulations or more assistance.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)