PDA

View Full Version : Screen jumping & flicking



stu140103
21-01-2004, 01:29 PM
Hello every one

Just in the last day or so my new Philps 170 B monitor (which I got for my birthday) jumping only slightly & flecking the corners and it the middle only slightly (it is doing this as I typed this post) and it is only happing every few minís aprox

Could it be there is something wrong with the refresh rate??

Also yesterday I got a new motherboard/CPU

It is a pain!

Any ideas????

tweak\'e
21-01-2004, 01:38 PM
what is the refresh rate? check via the monitor menu that it is the refresh rate.

stu140103
21-01-2004, 01:48 PM
> what is the refresh rate?

Frequency: 38K / 60 HZ

tweak\'e
21-01-2004, 01:50 PM
well your refresh rate is 60hz ....no wonder its a bit jumpy. try setting it to optimal or at least 75hz.

mikebartnz
21-01-2004, 02:35 PM
Also check that connections are solid.

Jester
21-01-2004, 03:19 PM
... do you have a Vodaphone mobile phone nearby?

That was the culprit in my office at work.

J
:D

Miami Steve
21-01-2004, 03:32 PM
My money is with Jester here. Mobile phones intermittently report their location to the cell sites, and this will cause the sort of effect you describe.

Let us know how you get on....

Cheers
Miami

stu140103
21-01-2004, 03:47 PM
> well your refresh rate is 60hz ....no wonder its a
> bit jumpy. try setting it to optimal or at least
> 75hz.

Thanks tweak'e :) I will do that... once I finger out how to do change that via the monitor menu! ;) :D

>mikebartnz wrote
> Also check that connections are solid.

yeath, there are :)

>... do you have a Vodaphone mobile phone nearby?

Nope, I donít even own a mobile phone!

stu140103
21-01-2004, 03:49 PM
> My money is with Jester here.

na na, you should of put your money with tweak'e :D :D

Miami Steve
21-01-2004, 03:50 PM
doh!!

:_|

stu140103
21-01-2004, 04:06 PM
> doh!!
>
> :_|

LOL! :D

tweak\'e
21-01-2004, 04:09 PM
> once I finger out how to do change that via the monitor menu

ya don't ;-) its via control panel or right click desktop/propeties :)

stu140103
21-01-2004, 04:26 PM
> > once I finger out how to do change that via the
> monitor menu
>
> ya don't ;-) its via control panel or right click
> desktop/propeties :)

yeath, dad told me :8}

But it is still doing it, even after we changed some settings :|

mikebartnz
21-01-2004, 04:29 PM
The only affect my Vodaphone has on my PC is through the sound system if a call or poll comes in. My electric toothbrush makes the video go beserk though.

Jester
21-01-2004, 05:30 PM
> > doh!!
> >
> > :_|

DOUBLE DOH :_|:_|

bmason
21-01-2004, 06:24 PM
I had a similar problem with my phillips screen (I think it was the same model) when I got it. Every couple of minutes it would make a sparking sound and cut out briefly. The picture would shake because it was triggering the degauss when it came back on.

I would suggest ringing the 0800 number for phillips support. I found them good to deal with, they confirmed mine as DOA and replaced it.

Jen C
21-01-2004, 07:05 PM
Apart from cellphones, other electrical devices can cause interference such as halogen desk lamps sitting too near the monitor. Otherwise, as bmason suggests a new monitor shouldn't have those sorts of problems and you may need a replacement.

Hiren
21-01-2004, 09:59 PM
I had the same problem with my moniter is stopped when I changed the refresh rate from 65 to 85 or something

stu140103
21-01-2004, 10:07 PM
Hello every one :)

Thank you for all your replies to my post :), every thing seems to be back to normal now.

Jester
21-01-2004, 10:09 PM
> Hello every one :)
>
> Thank you for all your replies to my post :), every
> thing seems to be back to normal now.

Don't keep us in suspense ... what did you do to stop it?

tedheath
21-01-2004, 10:33 PM
Quit drinking, it might be the DTs travelling through the keyboard, mouse or through the wood on the computer desk
:)

tedheath

stu140103
21-01-2004, 10:46 PM
My dad( as I ask him to have a look ;)) did what tweak'e said to do, & once I rebooted as I was running low on system resources as what happen in win ME, I have yet to have that problem again, if it does happen again tomorrow I will post back here, but I donít think it will happen again :D

Thanks again every one for your help :)

mikebartnz
22-01-2004, 01:01 AM
Sorry but if you are running anything under Win2K you are liable to strike it again.
>system resources

stu140103
14-02-2004, 05:10 PM
Ok, I am still having the same problem :(

Has any one had a screen which had/or is overheating? Before?

Because after my screen goes black, I have been felling how hot the top of the Monitor is, & it has been felling really hot.

stu140103
14-02-2004, 05:11 PM
> Sorry but if you are running anything under Win2K you
> are liable to strike it again.

I missed your post but why?

Billy T
14-02-2004, 07:57 PM
Monitors do not normally overheat unless their ventilation is impeded. Anything that could cause a noticeable increase in heat would usually show other side effects like a small or dark picture.

They are like TVs in that regard, and I cannot recall ever seeing an overheating TV, apart from some early CEI Majestic/Golden Knight models that had totally inadequate cabinet ventilation.

If you can give us a better idea of what the jumping and flicking effect looks like it would be helpful, so go to this site (http://www.oh-bugger.net.nz/) and use the cross hatch (#1) and chequer board (#13) patterns to identify the exact movement you are seeing. The site was put up by E.ric who used to be a frequent visitor to PF1 but hasn't been seen here for some time.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)