PDA

View Full Version : not s-video out put



heni72847
19-01-2004, 12:19 PM
got a notebook with tv out
the plug on the computer is s-video

but the cable i got turns it into a composite A/V cable on the other end


the notebook uses mobile radeon 9000
is there a way to set it so it gives out composite signal instead of s-video
..my geforece4mx can do this
can radeon do it??

godfather
19-01-2004, 01:43 PM
I have read your problem several times.
Don't understand it, so I must be missing something.

You want composite out from the laptop, which has S-Video.

The cable you have converts S-Video to Composite.

Now, that means you now have Composite from the laptop at the end of the cable, but you say you want Composite from the laptop? But you have it.

Its all a bit circular. Can you clarify?

My Geoforce 4MX also does a composite via cable, but its not an S-Video that it starts with, its a multiple input-output socket that looks like S-Video.

heni72847
19-01-2004, 02:47 PM
um.. sorry... i read my post and it is a bit stuffed...
kk ... i'll try again..

i'll try to draw it..

notebook--svideo plug out--cable--composite plug into TV


the cable has s-video in one end and composite in the other end for you to plug into the tv

the thing is .. the notebook tvout gives out s-video signal
but when the tv picks it up from the composite end thinking it's composite signal
the screen goes black & white

the same thing happened with my desktop computer
but in the settings i could change the signal to composite so it can show color
but that was while using geforce
not for the radeon i can't find the setting...

help plz..

somebody
19-01-2004, 03:03 PM
Theroetically the S-Video to Composite cable/adaptor **should** do the conversion for you. Was the cable bundled with the desktop PC? If so, it could be non-standard.

Otherwise, have you tried using another cable?

godfather
19-01-2004, 03:18 PM
Sounds more like a case of NTSC vs PAL. That causes black and white display. The PAL colour burst signal gets stripped off in NTSC format.

There is no such thing as an RCA plug version of S-Video, so what you have at the end of the cable should be Composite (RCA plug).
Just the wrong format of video.

heni72847
19-01-2004, 05:11 PM
i've tried setting the pal and ntsc
yes i know it's werid but that kinda cable does exist..
i got it from my other computer not from the notebook though...

maybe i do have to get a tv with s-video ...

godfather
19-01-2004, 05:34 PM
Sounds like you might be using a GF4 adaptor cable, and your laptop has a 7 pin s-video socket?

The laptop, if it has a 7 pin socket, is likely a non standard s-video socket. See this page, scroll down for the full details
http://www.hut.fi/Misc/Electronics/circuits/svideo2cvideo.html

You need the right cable.

heni72847
20-01-2004, 10:26 AM
the socket on the back of both computers looks exactly the same..
that's why the cable fits perfectly

but it seems like radeon can't change the signal going out..
or can it??


no cable came with the notebook...

tweak\'e
20-01-2004, 12:04 PM
there is 2 kinds of svideo to rca converting cables. the first is most likly the one you have, it simply has the wires conected in and requires the video card to switch the output from svideo to rca (the desktop had a setting to switch it from svideo to rca).

the 2nd kind is the lead shown in the link in the post above. it has a capacitor in it. the notebook requires the lead with the capactor in it. either make one or go buy one.

heni72847
20-01-2004, 05:19 PM
ooohh... icic...

u wrote: (the desktop had a setting to switch it from svideo to rca).



that is the exact setting i was looking for on the notebook with radeon
is it possible??

tweak\'e
20-01-2004, 08:00 PM
the notebook may not have that setting due to different hardware, thats why you need the other lead.

heni72847
20-01-2004, 08:58 PM
ok

would be nice if radeon driver could change signal output though..