PDA

View Full Version : Documents and settings wizard



kerryg
13-01-2004, 08:57 AM
I have recently formatted and reinstalled XP on my computer. Before doing so I ran the documents and settings wizard to save this info and saved to another partition on my hard drive. It has created a folder on this drive which contains 2 files called "image"(and some other numbers) and 1 called "status". Now when I run the restore documents and settings wizard and browse to this drive and folder, the wizard tells be that the files are not there. I can see them clearly in explorer but this app seems to be having problems. Any suggestions would be appreciated

somebody
13-01-2004, 09:24 AM
I assume you mean the "File and Settings Transfer Wizard". If you set it to look in the root directory of your other partition, instead of the actual folder, and see what happens. The program might be looking for the name of the folder, not the files inside.

kerryg
13-01-2004, 09:31 AM
I have tried both the route and the folder. The message says that it does not contain the files but I have checked by running the wizard again and it saves in exactly the same way

Babe Ruth
13-01-2004, 09:34 AM
kerryg,

Have a look at the following articles explaining the use (and abuse) of using Files and Settings Transfer Wizard (FAST) Here (http://www.aumha.org/win5/a/fast.php) and
Here (http://www.informit.com/isapi/product_id~%7B7E39ABD0-5A72-4383-A129-692700545B1A%7D/content/index.asp) and also all these MS KB articles... (if necessary)

Fast1 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;307869)
Fast2 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;306187)
Fast3 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;312965)
Fast4 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;306186)
Fast5 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;304903)
Fast6 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;302763)
Fast7 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;301999)
Fast8 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;293118)
Fast9 (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;283734)

Cheers, Babe.

kerryg
15-01-2004, 10:42 PM
Thanks for all this. I have looked at all of these links and the only real help was to uptdate the wizard which I have done. Sadly, I still get the same error message "The location you have specified does not contain the stored information".

I have experimented with running the wizard again to create the files and have successfully restored these files back to the PC. Unfortunately without the originals I am no further ahead.

There are image001.dat and image002.dat files and 1 called status. As a test I copied the "status" file from my new backup into the original folder and ran the wizard again. This time the wizard ran for quite some time but then stopped with an error - presumably because although the status file was OK it did not refer to the correct files. This leads me to think that the "status" file may be where my problem is. I can only look at the file with notepad and it looks like this "3MSU  " Maybe an editor that can properly look at this file may be helpful.

I do appreciate the help

Thanks
Kerry

jemm
18-01-2005, 06:03 AM
Hi Kerry,

I've just done exactly the same thing as you and found out exactly the same as you regarding the status file (I'm running XP Professional). The same error occurred when I edited the status file to "3MSU" instead of "4MSU" - Did you ever find the answer for this, because I really want my files back!

Jen
18-01-2005, 08:53 AM
Did you ever find the answer for this, because I really want my files back!Hi Jemm and Welcome to PressF1

This thread you have found and replied to, is 12 months old so it is unlikely the original author will be around and/or see this thread.

Your best bet is to make a new thread stating your problem and what you have already tried so far to fix it. :)

FoxyMX
18-01-2005, 10:08 AM
This thread you have found and replied to, is 12 months old so it is unlikely the original author will be around and/or see this thread.

Your best bet is to make a new thread stating your problem and what you have already tried so far to fix it.
With all due respect Jen I think posting in this thread was the correct thing to do as looking at the links posted by Babe should have been the first step.

Jemm, it would be a good idea to indicate whether you have actually tried all the previous suggestions and what others you have tried.