PDA

View Full Version : SUWIN caused Segment Load Failure



george12
12-01-2004, 09:47 AM
When I try and install Windows 98, I get the problem,

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Application Error

SUWIN caused Segment Load Failure in module SUWIN.EXE at 0004:7624.

[Close]
-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I have tried 2 different copies of Win98. The first, the error appeared while 'preparing to copy files', the other just after 'select directory' (when I clicked next it appeared). What can I do about this?

My PC is a Digital PC 3000, with 128MB of RAM (2 x 64MB 168-pin), and an MMX P233 chip. I have a network card and sound card, both PCI installed. I am installing of a 48X cd-rom drive.

Babe Ruth
12-01-2004, 09:59 AM
george12,

Have a read of the following MS KB articles Here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;129971) and Here (http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;EN-US;224836) for some advice.

Note that SUWIN is the protected-mode Setup component(s) responsible for calling all other dynamic link libraries (DLLs) used in Setup.

Cheers, Babe.

george12
12-01-2004, 10:10 AM
NEW MESSAGE

This time it's when it's just as it moves into 'Collecting information about your computer', and the message is:

-----------------------------------------------
[-] Setup
-----------------------------------------------

Message SU995003

Setup cannot load a required library.
(0x138b)

-----------------------------------------------

I'm just reading your KB articles now.

george12
12-01-2004, 10:26 AM
I'm following the KB advise now. The PC really crawls when you start disabling caches. I'm doing setup with 216 mins to go.

george12
12-01-2004, 01:06 PM
Hi guys. 2 hours 25 min later and it's just finished copying files. I am running a memory test to see if that was the problem.

george12
12-01-2004, 01:25 PM
hey, I think I know what could be the problem: on the mem test it says:

L1 Cache - 16K 175MB/s - fine
L2 Cache - Unknown - problem?

In the BIOS I have options for Internal and External cache. Are these just different names for L1 and L2? I reckon disabling the L2 cache would fix the thing, but you guys know best. I have of course ruled out all the cards and stuff by taking them all out. The memtest is now at 72%, so I will continue installing windows soon.

george12
12-01-2004, 01:33 PM
OK, the story is, I know the cache is the problem, because it works when I disable the cache. I think I need to disable the L2 cache. Am I right? If I am, then which is L2, external (memory) or internal (cpu)?

Sorry for posting so many consecutive comments.

Babe Ruth
12-01-2004, 02:24 PM
george12,

The level 2 cache for the Intel 233MMX CPU was on the intel motherboard and was usually 256 KB - 512 KB, So I guess that's the external cache you are talking about.

Cheers, Babe.

george12
12-01-2004, 04:30 PM
no, it was the internal (cpu) cache. sadly, that is the one that makes it run incredibly slow. Would sticking in a new cpu fix the problem? Because I have a few only slightly slower (200, 166 & 133).