PDA

View Full Version : CPU



Bubber
26-12-2003, 12:24 PM
I have this problem that when I turn my computer on. It stops and tells me that "cpu is not working or has been changed" press f1 or del. When I press f1 it comes on fine and I can do most things but after a short time every thing freezes up. Can any one help, PLEASE.

Greg S
26-12-2003, 12:41 PM
Fist thing I'd check is to see if the CPU heatsink and fan are seated properly. Remember to follow electrical safety and anti-static precautions.

Bubber
27-12-2003, 09:49 AM
Thanks Greg, checked it out and it seems okay. Still doing the same thing?????

Susan B
27-12-2003, 04:53 PM
I think the experts here will probably want details of what your CPU and motherboard are.

Pete O\'Neil
27-12-2003, 05:00 PM
Have you tryed resetting the BIOS? have u upgraded ne hardware lately?

tweak\'e
27-12-2003, 05:02 PM
does the pc till report the same cpu speed on bootup?? you mught have had a bios reset and changed the fsb or multiplyer.