PDA

View Full Version : Mandrake linux 9.0



Megaman
22-12-2003, 05:58 PM
hello all

a few months back u may have seen my post about my windows 95 dying. since then i have formatted the hard drive and put mandrake linux 9.0 in it. it's wonderful. but how do i get it to use my windows xps dial up internet connection over LAN? that would be the icing on the cake

Chilling_Silently
22-12-2003, 06:06 PM
First you need Networking setup.

Can the PC's ping each other?

If they can, then make sure you've enabled Internet Connection Sharing on WinXP.

Lets start with Networking.

Can they Ping each other?
Static or DHCP IP on your Mandrake PC?

Cheers


Chill.

ilikelinux
22-12-2003, 06:08 PM
>that would be the icing on the cake

would be the cake that idg had when pressf1 went back up??

Megaman
22-12-2003, 06:09 PM
> >that would be the icing on the cake
>
> would be the cake that idg had when pressf1 went back
> up??

no...

i mean the cake i got for joining the wonderful world of linux ;)

Megaman
22-12-2003, 06:13 PM
> First you need Networking setup.
>
> Can the PC's ping each other?

i dont have a clue how to ping in linux, windows wont ping linux, says 100% loss

>
> If they can, then make sure you've enabled Internet
> Connection Sharing on WinXP.

the obvious, yes i have

>
> Lets start with Networking.
>
> Can they Ping each other?

no

> Static or DHCP IP on your Mandrake PC?

static

>
> Cheers
>
>
> Chill.

ilikelinux
22-12-2003, 06:15 PM
have you set up the subnet masks to 255.255.255.0
on both pc's

and could i have a peice of the tux cake?

Megaman
22-12-2003, 06:17 PM
> have you set up the subnet masks to 255.255.255.0
> on both pc's

yes

>
> and could i have a peice of the tux cake?

u already got urs

Chilling_Silently
22-12-2003, 06:19 PM
Try this then:
Im assuming WinXP is setup coz it handles itself automatically when you enable ICS.

Setup the Mandrake box like this:
IP = 192.168.0.2
Subnet = 255.255.255.0
Gateway = 192.168.0.1

DNS1 = 202.27.184.3
DNS2 = 202.27.184.5

Then open up a terminal in linux and type:
ping 192.168.0.1

You will need to stop and then restart (down then bring up) the Network interfaces (eth0).

Cheers


Chill.

Chilling_Silently
22-12-2003, 06:20 PM
Another thing to check:
In WinXP, is it saying anything about the Cable being unplugged? If not, then your cable should be all sweet... (Just knocking off all the smaller things that _could_ go wrong first :-))

Megaman
22-12-2003, 06:28 PM
> Another thing to check:
> In WinXP, is it saying anything about the Cable being
> unplugged? If not, then your cable should be all
> sweet... (Just knocking off all the smaller things
> that _could_ go wrong first :-))

it says "clear net connected, speed 50.6 kbit/s" and "local area connected, 10mb/s"

anyway thank you verymuch. now linux has loaded pressf1! YAY!

ilikelinux
22-12-2003, 06:30 PM
good work, have u posted under mozilla yet?

Megaman
22-12-2003, 06:56 PM
2 probs...

1. mozilla wont load, only konqueror will

2. the internet is slow... maybe that will have something to do with lack of ram. i'll be getting 256mb worth of EDO-DRAM soon anyway to accompany the 32mb SD-RAM

thnx

megaman

ilikelinux
22-12-2003, 07:23 PM
is mozilla installed?

Chilling_Silently
22-12-2003, 10:07 PM
You may want to look at MozillaFirebird, or for a smaller browser try epiphany which is semi-integrated wtih GNOME 2.4 IIRC (Wont be with Mandrake 9.0 though I believe)....

Megaman
23-12-2003, 01:00 PM
mozillas installed, and it will load. its a little slow though.

anyway how do i do some basic file sharing? samba is on linux if i remember. i would like to share stuff like CD-ROM drives, as the new one doesnt like my old scratched cds with windows 95 games (yes they work) and my old drive hates the pcworld cds which have good programs like openoffice. will it matter if the linux drive has to read windows disks to share them?

and i would like to open .doc and mp3s under mandrake. also the old floppy is overridden with dust and doesnt work and would like to share the windows xps one

cheers

Chilling_Silently
23-12-2003, 02:32 PM
Nope, wont matter at all :-)

You're right, Samba's what you're after.

Search some of my past posts for "smb.conf"

XMMS will play MP3's (Its a WinAmp clone) and try AbiWord or OpenOffice for .doc files


Chill.

Megaman
23-12-2003, 06:10 PM
no samba is in fact on the box. how do i use it is the question

Chilling_Silently
23-12-2003, 07:11 PM
There's two ways of using Samba

To mount network shares
To share folders

Try this (as root):
mkdir /mnt/smb
mkdir /mnt/smb/share1

(Those are just examples...)

mount -t smbfs -o username=Administrator,password=12345 //192.168.0.3/C /mnt/smb/share1

That final command will mount the shared folder "C" from 192.168.0.3 onto /mnt/smb/share1 using the username Administrator and password 12345.

Change it to suit.

Look at my past posts for information on setting up smb.conf so you can share folders from your HDD :-)

Otherwise, look into downloading Webmin

Cheers


Chill.