PDA

View Full Version : Fan Error



greasy
15-12-2003, 03:43 PM
On Startup, my PII 350 now comes up with an error in red: hardware error cpu fan not working

I opened the box and sure enough the fan was static.

I have looked for fans on the net and have found many on trademe, however i also found some P-II cpus with no fan just a large heatsink. can I instead of replacing the fan just disable it in BIOS and rely on the heatsink to do the job?

Peter H
15-12-2003, 04:29 PM
No No No They are not expensive, and you must have one.
Bye

Megaman
15-12-2003, 05:47 PM
when the heatsink fails youll be sorry...

tweak\'e
15-12-2003, 08:37 PM
you can get pavie heatsinks for p2's as you have found. however you will need to design the case airflow/cooling to suit it. most of then i have seen have a duct from cpu heatsink to a casefan.

btw heatsinks don't fail, fans do.

Murray P
15-12-2003, 09:39 PM
A socket 7 or p111 rated fan from DSE should do the trick, 60x15mm 12v DC will do the trick. It will need a three wire/connection plug so your BIOS can be happy monitoring it (not a Molex plug). Or just grab a new heatsink and fan from DSE for $18- stock No: XH6434

Cheers Murray P

greasy
16-12-2003, 11:32 AM
thanks for the infos

I initially thought of getting a different fan, 3-wire, and bonding to the heatsink with a thermal adhesive, butthen thought if I could find a replacement ie 40mm x 40 x 10 fan that would be best. Now at least I know I have options!

Thanks!

greasy
18-12-2003, 11:47 AM
a question:

do all three-wire CPU fans work the same way? ie does the fan OK signal work for all 3wire fans and motherboards?

thanx

tweak\'e
18-12-2003, 01:21 PM
the third wire gives out pulses which vary depending on speed. no problems with different types of fans, only thing you have to watch is the fan isn't to slow (or takes to long to get up to full speed) and trips the "no fan protection".

greasy
18-12-2003, 01:29 PM
so if i fit a 3 wire fan with an equivalent rpm, I should be ok?

the reason I ask is I have heard that some fans communicate with the mobo in a different way, so make/model is important.

for a Slot 1 PII 5000 RPM should be ok? There are no specs on the fan that I have

thanx

Graham L
18-12-2003, 03:53 PM
Take the bad one with you when you buy the new one. If the replacement you are sold doesn't work, there should be no argument about "fitness for purpose".