PDA

View Full Version : Easy CD creator

Lois Jill
30-11-2003, 05:47 PM
I am relatively new to this game - I inherited a computer which had Windows 98 and among other things Easy CD creator on it. My son recently updated my machine to XP. Foolishly I assumed that I could reload Easy CD and did so - only to put XP into a hissy fit about non-compatible software - so I removed Easy CD but my machine keeps saying I have unsuitable files still "which could make my system unstable" or some such. Fine - but how do I find out what the files are that are left or, as XP has "disabled" such file - how do I stop the message coming up? Please can anyone help an older 'newbie'?

Susan B
30-11-2003, 06:22 PM
What I would do is try a System Restore and see if that fixes your problem. Go to Start>All Programs>Accessories>System Tools>System Restore. Click OK and see if there are any restore points available to before you install Easy CD Creator.

You will not lose any of your own data files performing a System Restore.

Let us know how you get on.

parry
30-11-2003, 07:21 PM
Hi Lois, take a look at this link (http://the-predator.tripod.com/dell/ecd6.html). Item #8 about compatibility with XP if you want to retain EasyCd otherwise to uninstall ver 4 see #1 or uninstall ver 5 #9.

hth :-)

Lois Jill
07-12-2003, 11:29 AM
Thanks to Susan B and parry for helpful replies. Too chicken to do it on my own but with my son's help have got rid of the unwanted files and the annoying message - and thrown Easy Cd creator disc into File 13!! We were not game to try the registry bit - but at present have plenty of disc space free so not worried about it. I'll beat this computer business yet!
Lois Jill

kiwibeat
07-12-2003, 11:56 AM
Use nero its far better all round and clone cd for whole cds can help out if you are in wgtn

Billy T
07-12-2003, 01:08 PM
> Use nero its far better all round