PDA

View Full Version : mandrake 9.0 screen resolution



sandyb
25-11-2003, 10:20 AM
I just installed mandrake 9.0 done the big jump and finally scraped windows.
first hurdle how do i change the screen resolution from 800 by 600 to 1024 by 768 in kde ?
i set it up wrong and can only get 800 by 600 and 640 by 480.
any help greatly appreciated.
thank you

Chilling_Silently
25-11-2003, 03:54 PM
There's a few ways you can do that.

You can manually edit the /etc/X11/XF86Config file (Hardest option)

KDE may have an option to do it from within the Control Center, but I use GNOME so wouldnt know sorry.

The next is using Mandrake config tools, I think it's called harddrake, but Im not 100% sure having never really used MDK.

Try and use harddrake, it'd be easiest.

Hope this helps


Chill.

Graham L
25-11-2003, 04:25 PM
Click on [b]Mandrake[b] in the toolbar, and find the Configuration area. That will do it.

sandyb
26-11-2003, 07:51 AM
Thank you both.
Problem solved.
All so totaly new for me. What a learning curve!

ilikelinux
26-11-2003, 07:52 AM
linux newbies are welcomed here (as you can see....)

Chilling_Silently
26-11-2003, 08:33 AM
Well, not just Linux n00b's, but anybody with a Question...

I dont think its fair that you throw them into a category of their own just coz of the OS that Joe Bloggs uses... ;-)