PDA

View Full Version : Off Topic TV plugs



beetle
22-11-2003, 07:53 PM
we have a problem with our little portable tv, my lovely son has chopped off the plug.....

up till now there was nothing wrong with this tv, worked really well, but now non useable, is there a way to fix it by putting a new plug on it or is it likely to be history????

and off to the shop for a new one?

any thoughts on this would be appreciated.

beetle

brewer
22-11-2003, 09:30 PM
put the plug on a trolley and make him watch it. (no ads).

Martina
22-11-2003, 09:35 PM
Do u mean the mains plug?? If so then just put another on!!

Good luck

M...

beetle
22-11-2003, 09:43 PM
ok yes we had thought of that but as it is a two pin / two wire plug does that not make life a little more difficult????

and now the cord is fairly short, so need extension lead to reach point any way, from on top of cabinet......

he has destroyed vast amounts of phone cable this way as well, so have been off the net a fair bit till we put cable along ceilings...

LOL they are sent to test us.

beetle

Winston001
22-11-2003, 10:11 PM
Ahhhh....Beet - how old is this son of yours?
Is he chewing through the wiring?
Or are you giving him access to cutting devices - knives and scissors.

There would seem to be a fairly obvious preventive solution for future damage.

As to the TV. new plug no problem. Extension cord ditto.

Relax.

godfather
22-11-2003, 11:24 PM
If its a 2 core cable, then there is no connection to the Earth pin on the new plug.

Blue or Black on the cord = Neutral on the plug
Red or Brown on the cord = Phase or Active on the plug.

Depending where and when it was made as to the colour, and the marking on the plug.

This child is following after its mother, it's in the genes.....

beetle
23-11-2003, 01:41 PM
:p
in the genes ! LOL

thanxs for the help, and he is not school age yet, and has a knack of finding scissors, or drawing on the walls with pens that we are sure they are hidden....

ok will get a new plug next shop day.

beetle

Billy T
23-11-2003, 03:37 PM
> If its a 2 core cable, then there is no connection to
> the Earth pin on the new plug.
>
> Blue or Black on the cord = Neutral on the plug
> Red or Brown on the cord = Phase or Active on the
> plug.

Just to add to God's post, you probably won't be able to buy a two pin plug so just use a three pin. Not all are well marked for the Phase (live or active) and neutral connections so use this rule:

When looking at the terminals at the back of the plug and pretending you are plugging it in, the connection on the left is the phase, and that on the right is the neutral. The earth is the one at the bottom and you won't be connecting to that.

If in doubt, get somebody to wire it for you.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

beetle
23-11-2003, 03:43 PM
thats not a major vote of confidence in my electric wiring skills then BT?

dont worry will get HWMO to do it, other wise may burn down house eh?

:D

and if all contact with beetle is lost, wait for the smoke signals then.....LOL


much appreciate the help people, even though this is not a good field for beetle,

i had thought about me just sitting next to the tv and then know need for a plug....should have enough zap from me a???

?:|

:p

beetle