PDA

View Full Version : possible upgrades on my motherboard



TheBOKE
16-11-2003, 03:37 PM
i have a via k133a motherboard. i was wondering if there is some resource on the internet that i can use to see the most powerful cpu, graphics card, or hard drive that my motherboard could support. i am mainly interested in the cpu and the graphics card, i have an AGP 4x slot, and im not really sure about the cpu. if there is no online resource, could people give me some advice?

Terry Porritt
16-11-2003, 04:11 PM
Via K133 is the chipset, many manufacturers use this, so what you need to find out is the motherboard manufacturer, then do a search for their website, and then find the manual for your motherboard model and version number.

Jen C
16-11-2003, 04:22 PM
If you are not sure what components your computer has, try Aida32 (http://www.aida32.hu/aida-download.php?bit=32) - The Personal System Information. It is free and will be able to dig out quite a bit of information on your computer.

TheBOKE
16-11-2003, 04:35 PM
...thanks.

Pete O\'Neil
16-11-2003, 08:30 PM
heres a link to the official website for the VIA KT133A chipset
http://www.via.com.tw/en/apollo/KT133A.jsp

as for the fastest CPU your going to be able to use, the chipsets limitation is a CPU with a FSB or 266. This should mean that you can use a Duron with either the Spitfire or Morgan core, u may be able to use the new Duron's based on the Throughbred core but u'll need to check your motherboard manufactuers website. As for Athlon u would be able to use any CPU with the T-bird and Palmino cores and any based on the throughbred up to 2200+. But it will pay to check your manufacturers website as you may need a BIOS upgrade or may not be able to use a particular CPU based on multipier limitations

you shouldnt have any problems with harddrives and most modern GFX cards should be backwards compatiable with AGP4x just check the voltages.

Rod ger
16-11-2003, 08:44 PM
I find this (http://www.wimsbios.com/) site is really good for info on BIOS updates and usually connects to other relevant info as well.

Terry Porritt
16-11-2003, 08:53 PM
Hopefully Pete O'Neil is correct, but for example my m/b is an ABIT KT7A with KT133A chipset. Unfortunately it is version 1.2, and it will only take up to an Athlon T'bird 1.4MHz. The version 1.3 board has a hardware mod that with a bios flash, enables Athlon XPs to be used up to, I think +2200 as Pete says.

TheBOKE
17-11-2003, 11:03 AM
it turns out i have the gigabyte GA-7ZX-H motherboard, with the info page located at

http://tw.giga-byte.com/MotherBoard/Products/Products_GA-7ZX-H.htm

heres what it says:
Processor
Socket A for AMD Athlon™ /Duron™ 200/266MHz FSB processors

Supports 500MHz ~ 1.2GHz and faster

AUTO detect CPU voltage

i dont know much about this, but i just assume it can support any 266mhz fsb processors.... :S help?!

Pete O\'Neil
17-11-2003, 03:35 PM
if you download the latest BIOS for your board you should be able to run a Athlon 2100+ and a Duron 1300mhz

http://tw.giga-byte.com/Motherboard/Support/BIOS/BIOS_GA-7ZX-H.htm