PDA

View Full Version : May Need Help Next Week - Perhaps from Internet6 Cafe

Laura
15-11-2003, 12:11 AM
This is a cheeky post from someone who's only 6 months computer knowledge herself (and only 6 weeks with PF1) but from what I've seen so far, you lot will give me a hand if necessary.
At the crack of dawn tomorrow, I leave my comfy Otago for the big bad city up north.
Sister in Auckland has been given "an old computer" by a friend who's upgraded. She says " I've plugged it in & it goes. It'd be good if you can set it up for me when you're here."
I ask: What OS?
She has no idea. (Yes, she uses the computer at her work for email, so not computer illiterate - just hasn't thought of technicalities)
Sooo- I have visions of stuff I can't work out because it's even earlier than my 98SE I'm still learning.
And in that case, I'll be posting to you PF1ers on internet cafe somewhere for info, I guess.
If I'm being perssimistic & the "old Computer" is the OS I've already got, I'll still be looking for help - as mine was set up by a friend & I didn't have to think about that early stage.
Pride is obviously at stake here. I'm already supposed to " know about computers" merely by owning one.
I'll be relying on you all....and keeping you posted..either from the computer or whatever I can find down the road.

Laura
15-11-2003, 12:50 AM
I guess this should really have been an OFF TOPIC, as I didn't actually ask a question ....yet.

BootyLicious
15-11-2003, 12:51 AM
I can't wait to here what your sister has got her self into here.:D

And if you want to make it sound like you know what your doing just tell her she needs you update the drivers.;-)

Fire-and-Ice
15-11-2003, 07:11 PM
Why would this be a "cheeky post"? Not cheeky at all - fire away when you need to and keep your fingers crossed that it's not pre-Win95. :D

Chilling_Silently
15-11-2003, 07:45 PM
So... "set it up" meaning.. Get her online?