PDA

View Full Version : code 5 error

albatross
13-11-2003, 01:11 PM
just tried installing spyaware....aborted due to code 5 error.....seems to be in system 32\ msinet.ocx.....could someone enlighten me on this please....I`m running XP.....also have on board ...mailwash..webwasher....ad aware...would one of these affect the install....do I need spyaware as well or should I not bother.....I`m a learner so any advice will be welcome.
thanks

tommy
13-11-2003, 02:00 PM
Never heard of Spyaware? Do you mean Spybot? Spybot Search and Destroy is an excellent program to have if you suspect you have spyware on your computer. It complements AdAware. You could try downloading another copy and installing that in case your downloaded one is corrupted.

godfather
13-11-2003, 02:35 PM
Seconding tommy on that issue, a good mix is Spybot Search & Destroy and AdAware.

I have no experience of SpyAware, its not as popular as the other 2.

There can be issues where one spyware cleaner will recognise other spyware cleaner definition files as files to be removed, but a sanity check of where they are located is not hard. (If they are in AdAware directories for instance, they will belong to AdAware)

The Error code 5 may be particular to SpyAware, so you would need to research the SpyAware help files or website to find what the problem related to.

albatross
13-11-2003, 03:13 PM
thanks for that.....its actually called spyware blaster..probably don`t need it but was looking for a security system that I can understand......I`ll stick with what I have until I know more....
Thanks again

tommy
13-11-2003, 06:35 PM
> its actually called spyware blaster..probably don`t need it but was looking for a security system that I can understand.

That is a good program to use to prevent spyware being installed. Recommended.

albatross
13-11-2003, 07:20 PM