PDA

View Full Version : Problems installing Windows 95b



mejobloggs
22-10-2003, 04:54 PM
A couple of places during the install, it comes up with an error about not being able to access or read drive A:

It did this with no floppy, and it still did it.

At the end of the install, it wanted to restart, but it said I had a floppy in, but I didnt.

Does this mean that my floppy drive is dead or something?

tommy
22-10-2003, 04:59 PM
How are you trying to install Windows 95? With a CD installation disk?

mejobloggs
22-10-2003, 05:01 PM
Yup, with a CD.

I installed windows, but now when i run it for the first time, it goes to Setting up Hardware for Plug and Play devices.

But it seems to lock up here.

Can I skip it, and do it manually or something?

Peter H
22-10-2003, 08:06 PM
Strange - A wild guess, but try unplugging the power cable to your floppy, and see what happens. Can't do any harm.
Bye

mejobloggs
22-10-2003, 09:06 PM
Ha. Thats inside ay?

Peter H
22-10-2003, 10:00 PM
Yes. I assume that W95 installed OK but won't detect P & P devices. You could go into BIOS and disable this. Should not have to except, as a last resort.
Bye

mejobloggs
22-10-2003, 10:09 PM
wont that mean my monitor wont run?

What type of stuff will not run with this turned off?

Peter H
23-10-2003, 10:03 AM
Back to square one. Windows is installed & running ? Just hangs while trying to detect P & P ? With a slow CPU this can take a long time. Ignore my comment about the BIOS. What exactly is the problem ?
Bye

Graham L
23-10-2003, 03:17 PM
A floppy isn't a Plug & Play device.B-) It's the fourth oldest dos device. (keyboard, screen, cassette, floppy :D)

However, it might be an idea to disable the P&P support in the BIOS (if it's enabled; enable it if it's disabled ;-)) Plug and Play is a precursor of the USB cleverness. That is, it leads to lots of cursing. USB just does that faster.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 04:03 PM
What type of things are Plug and Play? If I turn that off, what stuff wont work?

Ill give it a shot, first I have to reinstall again.

Graham L
23-10-2003, 04:07 PM
The trouble seems to be that if the BIOS does it, it sometimes conflicts with what Windows does. Things will usually still work, but it takes longer. That's why I suggest flipping the setting in the BIOS and leave it at the one which works best.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 04:35 PM
I found a thing saying Report No FDD For WIN 95. What is this?

Could it be part of the problem?

Where do I find an option to turn off Plug and Play?

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 04:40 PM
I have some options:

PNP OS Installed Yes/No (curently yes)

Resoucres controlled by : Manual/Auto (currently Manual)



What ones of them?

Graham L
23-10-2003, 04:40 PM
"Report No FDD" might cause Windows to get upset. This could be a "security" thing ... If it's on, turn it off. :D

Just go through the pages of the setup, reading carefully. ;-) You can't do any damage if you just "look".

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 04:50 PM
Ooook.

Now it says it Cannt read from drice l.

Weird

Peter H
23-10-2003, 04:51 PM
How are managing to install W95 without a boot disc? Is/has your floppy drive been working?
Bye

Graham L
23-10-2003, 05:10 PM
The drive 1 detection will be in either the first page, or an IDE page. That's a different problem.

I'd try manual resource allocation on, first. If that's no better, try turning the P&P off.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 07:03 PM
I am using a Windows 98 cd to boot, since I cant seem to boot from the 95 cd. I cant remember what happened to the boot disk, maybe it worked, but I am using the cd for some reason.

I dont seem to have an option to turn PNP off (is plug and play PNP?)
Only manual and auto.

I will keep looking.

In dos, im not sure what my drive A: is. It seems to have the content of a boot disk.

Drive B:is my floppy drive, and it works, because i have tried it.

Maybe its this weird drive A: thing

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 07:04 PM
I also had a sharing violation on drive A:

Peter H
23-10-2003, 07:35 PM
Plug your floppy drive into the end of the multicore cable - NOT the middle. This is the A drive. W95 is not bootable from CD. Why not just load W98 insread? To install W95 you need a boot disc - this is a floppy - once booted, change prompt to E: and type set up.exe.
Bye

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 07:37 PM
> Plug your floppy drive into the end of the multicore
> cable - NOT the middle. This is the A drive. W95 is
> not bootable from CD. Why not just load W98 insread?
> To install W95 you need a boot disc - this is a
> floppy - once booted, change prompt to E: and type
> set up.exe.
> Bye

What on earth is a multicore?

I booted from win98 CD, instead of floppy.

Do I need an antistatic wrist thing? Because I dont have one.

Peter H
23-10-2003, 07:38 PM
Also, go into BIOS and "load optimized defaults"

Peter H
23-10-2003, 07:40 PM
The back of your floppy has 2 cables - 4 core for power - the other for signal etc - this is multicore.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 07:43 PM
I have Load Setup Defaults, if thats what you mean.

Should I update my bios? Because I seem to be missing some stuff.

Like turning of PNP, and Load Optimized stuff.

http://www.msi.com.tw/program/support/bios/bos/spt_bos_detail.php?UID=309

That is the bios page for my motherboard.

Also, http://bloggsworld.orcon.net.nz/test/computer/Report.htm
That is a hardware report on my computer if it helps.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 07:46 PM
Do I need an antistatic wrist thing? Because I dont have one.


Sorry, I wouldnt have a clue about all this. Never tried it before.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 07:50 PM
Can I talk to you on MSN Peter H? If you dont mind.

Maybe You could help me better.

Mzee
23-10-2003, 07:57 PM
1] If your cpu has a speed of more than 300mhtz Win 95 will not work. There is a patch but why bother?
2] If you boot with a CD, the start files are stored as A: & the CD is asigned a different letter.
3] When it says it can't read from "A:" it means it cant read the CD, this is because in order to support the CD drive you need a Dos start floppy with CD support.
4] Setup from drive "C" .
Boot with Win98 floppy with CD support: Copy the "Win95" folder from your CD to drive "C:"
5] Select the CD (probably E or F), cd win95, setup

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 09:54 PM
Ah, thanks. I installed it this time without the odd drive errors.

It didnt help much though. It still locks up when setting up Plug and Play.

I have tried my bios things with no luck.

I can use win98 because its an OEM, and I already have it installed on one computer.

mejobloggs
23-10-2003, 10:10 PM
AARRRGGHH

Mzee
24-10-2003, 12:07 AM
What is preventing you from using an OEM version on more than one computer, (unless it is XP) ?
It is not an upgrade so you would have to do a clean install, but there is no practical reason why you shouldn't do it.

mejobloggs
24-10-2003, 04:27 PM
is it legal?

Can I use the Windows 98 OEM on another computer legally?

mejobloggs
25-10-2003, 09:46 AM
well?

tommy
25-10-2003, 10:08 AM
> Can I use the Windows 98 OEM on another computer legally?

No, not if you are running it on two machines. But if it is no longer on the computer that it was orginally installed on it is unlikely to be too much of an issue.

mejobloggs
25-10-2003, 10:26 AM
I reset my bios to default, and now it goes through the memory check 3 times, How do i stop this?

Also, it comes up with an error:

Conflict I/0 ports: 2F8

Could this be the problem?

mejobloggs
25-10-2003, 12:24 PM
Ok, its not the problem. I changed it and it still locked up when detecting plug and play.

Is this an unfixable thing?

mejobloggs
25-10-2003, 07:50 PM
Well! I managed to start it in safe mode. So, can I somehow disable the plug and play check from safe mode?

godfather
25-10-2003, 11:37 PM
No

PnP is accessed from the BIOS, not from Windows.

If you get as far as Windows (safe mode or not) you have gone past the option to access BIOS.

Reboot and access BIOS before you get to the point Windows loads.

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 12:20 PM
Yeahm but I dont have an option to turn it off.

I have tried lots of stuff, but it hasnt worked.

Susan B
26-10-2003, 01:30 PM
This is a really wild guess but is the Virus Protection in your BIOS disabled? I think it needs to be before installing Windows. If it isn't try doing that.

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 02:36 PM
Yup. Disabled

I found these.

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;128920&Product=w95

http://support.microsoft.com/search/default.aspx?Catalog=LCID%3D1033%26CDID%3DEN-US-KB%26PRODLISTSRC%3DON&QuerySource=gASr_Query&Product=w95&Queryc=plug+and+play&Query=plug+and+play&KeywordType=ANY&maxResults=150&Titles=false&numDays=

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;128920&Product=w95

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;128920&Product=w95

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;134553&Product=w95

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;169744&Product=w95

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;174018&Product=w95


And some odd one about you computer randomely playing classical music.
http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=kb;en-us;261186&Product=w95

Funny but irrelivant

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 02:37 PM
!!!!!!!!!

I deleted all the .inf files from windows/inf

It worked!!

I think I deleted something important though, because it had a fit later.

Something about APPS.INF

Ill get it off my cd hopefully

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 02:44 PM
Hmm, when I right click on the desktop, it gets a runddl error.

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 02:59 PM
Ahh! It crashes heaps.

Do I try and load the drivers off my Win95 cd, or do I download drivers from the internet?

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 03:16 PM
Oh nuts. I wouldnt have a clue where to begin on the drivers.

I will get a full report from aida 32 soon, and then please help me.

mejobloggs
26-10-2003, 04:37 PM
Guess what! I formatted again, to see if i could get rid of all the errors.

Now I cant start windows again.

Back to sqaure one.

ooohh.