PDA

View Full Version : phpNuke & MySQL



nz_liam
18-10-2003, 06:32 PM
Hi,

Iím trying to get phpNuke (the content management system) to work on my site, however I only have one MySQL database allocated to me by my webhost, which I am currently using (to run ChatF1), does anyone know how I could merge, or rather import the phpNuke database into my existing one (I can easily change the phpNuke database access config settings but I donít want to have to manually create the 500 or so fields that phpNuke uses).


Any help or pointers on this would be greatly appreciated.


Cheers

nz_liam

stu140103
18-10-2003, 06:43 PM
I have a spare MYSQL database you could use.

nz_liam
18-10-2003, 06:49 PM
> I have a spare MYSQL database you could use.

Whats you msn? or ICQ? Mine is liam@farr.net.nz and 16715777 Cheers.

stu140103
18-10-2003, 06:51 PM
> > I have a spare MYSQL database you could use.
>
> Whats you msn?

stuartw77 [at] hotmail [dot] com

-=JM=-
18-10-2003, 06:55 PM
I don't have any experience with phpNuke but when I've installed phpBB before it has the option to put a prefix on all the names in the database that it uses, eg phpBB_ so that it is kept separate from anything else.

Also be warned that phpNuke isn't the most secure of packages.

stu140103
18-10-2003, 06:56 PM
I am having tea at the moment, but I will be back online by about 7:30 - 8:00

nz_liam
18-10-2003, 06:57 PM
> Also be warned that phpNuke isn't the most secure of
> packages.

What would you recoment then ?


Cheers Liam.

nz_liam
18-10-2003, 08:31 PM
Well, I removed phpNuke and installed Nucleus 2.0, couldn't have been easier, just upload the install files and load the install wizard in your browser, it let me use my existing database and was a breeze to setup (even an idiot could install it).


Cheers

nz_liam

nz_liam
19-10-2003, 11:59 AM
Well after playing round with Nucleus 2.0, and finding out that it is only a "weblog' and not really a fully functional CMS.

So I ended up re-downloading phpNuke and installing it manually (instead of using my sites web admin to install it), and I was able to get it to install to my existing database, (only a few minor installation problems, due to lack of knowledge on my part), and now its up and running well.


Cheers

Liam