PDA

View Full Version : Modem Driver



csinclair83
05-10-2003, 12:13 PM
finally successfully reformatted hdd..
now got anufa prob.... the modem driver..
all i know is its a aztech modem...i beleive it is...

its on a packard bell computer wif xp home

if more details re needed, just ask away :-)

Spacemannz
05-10-2003, 12:15 PM
Try www.aztech.com

The'yre the makers. Check and see which model of the modem you
have. Download the driver install and hopefully it works!

Jen C
05-10-2003, 12:19 PM
This Packard Bell site has modem drivers - you will need to find out exactly which model Aztech you have though.

Category: Modem (http://support.packardbell-europe.com/support/download/drv/CAT131.asp?c=ap)

csinclair83
05-10-2003, 12:20 PM
how? i reformatted with the knowledge that eveything would be installed from hidden partitition so didnt bother looking at any details for anything...and everything installed perfect apart from the modem...
so all i knw is its a aztech one...

csinclair83
05-10-2003, 12:22 PM
aztech only has 3 pci modem drivers..
and modem is a pci one so guess i download all 3 pci modem drivers and chuck onto cd-rw and let it pick it up itself :)

would that work?

Jen C
05-10-2003, 12:25 PM
You could pop the lid off the case and take a look at the modem for anyother identifying marks.

> guess i download all 3 pci modem drivers and chuck onto cd-rw and let it pick it up itself

Nope, Windows will quite happily install the wrong driver for you. You need to give it a bit more help than that :D

csinclair83
05-10-2003, 12:29 PM
nah dont wanna open case, i dont have the confidence to open cases etc at the moment, iknow its probably a lil simple job but yeah...

i guess i do each one one at a time but how do i know it works?

Spacemannz
05-10-2003, 12:30 PM
Umm, well it'll be a waste of CDRW lol chuck them on a disk. The easier way, would be, is to open the case if u can. Look on top / the bottom of the modem. See if its the PCI MSP3885, MSP7850 (It should have a sticker somewhere on the modem). BUT if u cant well, ONE of the 2/3 will work. Try each one, then test the modem. Whichever one brings up the commands etc. use it!

Spacemannz
05-10-2003, 12:32 PM
Also what version of windows did u install? XP might pick it up since it installs 1.3 gb lol there must be something there!

csinclair83
05-10-2003, 12:36 PM
yeah winxp...

it hasnt picked it up in 6 restarts...but the modem driver downloads...
the first pick was correct..its instlaled and working properly..

is that all i need to know that its the right one?

Spacemannz
05-10-2003, 12:39 PM
Just as long as the driver is installed and it can connect to your isp, its OK.

csinclair83
05-10-2003, 12:48 PM
hey..
thanks for ya help n this...it worked all good...connected no problemo to net... :-)

thanks guys

Spacemannz
05-10-2003, 01:26 PM
cool! go to hear :)

ciao