PDA

View Full Version : Hand/Wrists Problem,.related 2 computer use

csinclair83
29-09-2003, 09:06 PM
Hey...i've been using computers since I was 12-13 years old, not only do I love computers, its my way of communication (emails etc)...in the last month or so my wrists have started hurting really bad. Just this last week the pain is getting to me, and I am actually stopping to think about it......
here are my symptoms:
a continuous numb type pain around the inner wrists towards the wrist and up towards the index ("pinky") finger, as though the wrists and feels like part of the hands were just hit very hard with a baseball bat a few times.

And when i sit to watch tv, i try rub my hands abit and i can feel some clicking in the wrists...

No matter how I position my hands when typing or clicking my mouse I feel pain, with each sentence I type, and each click of my mouse, but it goes away after abit of rest but still comes back...

What I need to know is if this is carpotunnel or tendinitis or even RSI, and also, can I live with it? I can deal with the pain if I have to, but if the numbin is going to get to the point where I can't hold things, or the tendions break or something, then I need to know lol, and also some recommendations on what i could do? or should do?

I am asking you guys b4 i do anything, as i'm a student..well going 2 be...and i wanna get this sorted b4 my 3 year computer course starts next year...and also am asking b4 i do nefing coz i dont wanna go to a doctor and find that theres nothing wrong and rest is all thats needed and then pay him $25 to tell me that...

nicnz
29-09-2003, 10:08 PM
Hi C,

I've managed to develop RSI (oos etc very similar), and it doesn't go away once you've got it. You are better to manage it now before it gets any worse. Going to the doctor won't help either way, whether you have it or not, since he/she can't do anything about it.

Some tips to help:
*Alter your mousing hand - swap between hands (it does get easier)