PDA

View Full Version : updating AVG



beetle
28-09-2003, 10:29 PM
ok i regularly check and update AVG but have found on the work puter which never gets turned off always says "virus database needs updating"
and as i have already done this tonight why does it still say it?
will it only update if the puter shuts down and intergrates the new bit or not?

worries me its not working properly then if im not update enough.

win xp home.

beetle

godfather
28-09-2003, 10:35 PM
The new updates only get activated by the program whet it starts.

If its going 24/7, thats never.

You could try stopping and starting AVG for a start, but it may need a restart of the PC to make it work. Worth a try.

beama
28-09-2003, 10:43 PM
grisoft have changed the way their updates are done
you need at least database version 516 ( signature file after this use the new method) before the new updates can be done. You can still download this but you have to go to the web site to do it there are instructions there remember avg free is a disabled version of avg6 pro ie no tech support, no advanced interface and no scheduling of virus scans.
web site is http://www.grisoft.com/us/us_updt6.php?lng=us this will take you directly to the update page and the instructions read carefully

stu140103
28-09-2003, 10:43 PM
> You could try stopping and starting AVG for a start,
> but it may need a restart of the PC to make it work.
> Worth a try.

GF is right there, you do need to reboot the computer for AVG to update

Why donít you reboot it before you go to bed????

beetle
28-09-2003, 10:44 PM
yes well had been starting on that idea to.

and was in process of shutting things down - such as avg and then puter but it seems to have rectified itself when shut down. and did a recheck before shutting puter down,

but still had to get me to click install or some such thing before it resets to new update file. so must remeber every update to shut it down (prog).
just another one of those things you must remeber to do !!!!

thanxs goddie

brains on overload of info today....

beetle

beetle
28-09-2003, 10:47 PM
it says 319 ? on my settings i think.

beetle

beama
28-09-2003, 10:52 PM
godfather
we must have posted about the same time ,
when grisoft changed their update method they also updated the way updates are done to the engine ie update without restart at least that what I have noticed, also update files are now Kb as opposed to Mb as in the past and are cumulative at least that is what the web site states

godfather
28-09-2003, 10:52 PM
Latest update is 521 according to AVG home page

metla
28-09-2003, 11:03 PM
meh heh heh heh

Looking thru my avg settings,i see its quite certain im running windows 2000 on a Pentium................HA

Wrong on both counts.

beetle
28-09-2003, 11:08 PM
mine says something similar to that metla,

is nothing ever right on these machines?

beetle

stu140103
28-09-2003, 11:40 PM
> it says 319 ? on my settings i think.

Yep that is correct I also now have AVG on my computer & it says 319 23/09/03

Here is a screen shot (http://sal.neoburn.net/imagef1/?grab=avg02.jpg) to prove it

Scouse
28-09-2003, 11:49 PM
Yep Stu - same here

stu140103
28-09-2003, 11:55 PM
it look like AVG has stuff up then

godfather
29-09-2003, 12:03 AM
Read it again Stu.

6.0.521

Thats the "521" AVG are referring to.
Its not just the virus signatures that are updated, its the engine.

beetle
29-09-2003, 12:15 AM
thanxs goddie, ive actually got something right.
so with the virus bit 319 is ok.
and the 6.o.512 bit also shows up on mine ok.

so do i wait for the earth to shatter or something as i never seem to get anything coreect or not damaged ? :p

peice of mind is a funny thing.

beetle

stu140103
29-09-2003, 12:38 PM
> Read it again Stu.
>
> 6.0.521
>
> Thats the "521" AVG are referring to.
> Its not just the virus signatures that are updated,
> its the engine.

opps :8}:8}:8}