PDA

View Full Version : Ram Optimizers - Are they any good?



ron_m
27-09-2003, 09:49 PM
Yeah I was just wondering if anyone knew whether those optimizers really did work and if so is it worth the while?. thanks.

JJJJJ
27-09-2003, 09:55 PM
NO

godfather
27-09-2003, 10:04 PM
No

tweak\'e
27-09-2003, 10:04 PM
not really. only time they come in handy if your runing buggy software, so unless you are alpha/beta testing software don't bother with so called ram optimizers.

stu140103
27-09-2003, 10:29 PM
Nope

kiwibeat
28-09-2003, 04:14 PM
Better to buy more ram though I do use cacheman to tweak the settings but it stays off these days once its done its job

bmason
28-09-2003, 04:59 PM
No :D .

agent
28-09-2003, 05:13 PM
I used CacheMan a while ago to tweak my RAM settings... didn't notice any difference, but then I don't do any activities on the computer that would show a difference like benchmarks.

Unless you're doing [false] benchmarks there's no point in using RAM optimisers.

zqwerty
28-09-2003, 05:52 PM
I do not agree, if you have limited ram, as I do, only 98 Meg EDO, you will find as I did that, they do help. I have tried a number of them and found this one, not the professional version to be very good. If you want to try others then get back to me and I will give you links to other good ones, it was a hard choice to make, they all seemed pretty good.

http://www.amsn.ro/

Regards Robert Worrill

PoWa
28-09-2003, 08:47 PM
This link (http://www.beemerworld.com/tips/disabledllcache.htm) might be of interest if you don't want memory manager programs.

I actually use Freemem Pro and its quite useful I have to say. For one its always telling me how much ram is in use because there is constantly a number in the taskbar, and I don't have to ctrl+alt+del to bring up the performance screen. Plus it frees up some ram occasionally, which I don't think Windows does very well at all.

beama
28-09-2003, 11:03 PM
They can be a trade off, ie you use RAM to use them, but some do a good job and as PoWa rightly points outs windows is not that good at cleaning up behind itself, I personally don't use them.

Elephant
28-09-2003, 11:15 PM
I tried a few RAM optimisers quite a while ago even as far back as the 486 I used,

They didn't appear to do much for me.

Now I have 1 Gig RAM and twin 120 Gig hard drives and so haven't tried a RAM optimiser for a while now.

YMMV

Susan B
29-09-2003, 06:18 PM
Isn't Cacheman a RAM optimiser?? ?:|

tweak\'e
29-09-2003, 08:47 PM
>Isn't Cacheman a RAM optimiser??

no, its just a tweak program. it changes a few registry settings (tho there is a clear ram optoin).

ram optimisers run all the time to control what is/isn't loaded into the ram. unfortunatly what little gain they have you lose in resoures.

ideally you need to rewrite windows memory management.......but then again you might as well use a better OS.

Susan B
30-09-2003, 06:26 AM
Oh I see. I never did notice any difference when I tried Cacheman so maybe Win XP does a pretty good job at handling things itself.

Thanks for the clarification. :-)