PDA

View Full Version : Modem problems



Jakkie
24-09-2003, 09:25 PM
I've reformatted my computer today and loaded everything with the help of Chill. It is working 100% except for my modem. 'Add Hardware' cannot trace my modem. It's a Fax/Modem 56000bps Data Downstream / 14400bps Group III Fax, Intel V.92. Clicking on the Intel Modem thingy, do not bring this version up. What must I do to get the modem to work? I'm ever so frustrated!

Jakkie

godfather
24-09-2003, 09:31 PM
You need to identify what the make and model is.

Sometimes that requires physically looking at it, noting down any identifying stickers etc.
The telecom PTC label is useful, if one is fitted (and one is *supposed* to be fitted). The PTC number can be traced on the web to the maker.

If you can run the diagnostics (properties) it will interrogate the modem bios and report the firmware version. That can help to track it down as well.

Jakkie
26-09-2003, 11:37 AM
Godfather. Thanks for the info.

How do I do this: "If you can run the diagnostics (properties) it will interrogate the modem bios and report the firmware version. That can help to track it down as well".