PDA

View Full Version : Problem's connecting to the internet (again)



Loopy
23-09-2003, 11:00 AM
Previously I had a problem caused by "Sah Downloader" which caused my computer to restart when I started to connect. I fixed that.

This morning I turned on my computer and went online briefly, I then turned it off and went down the road for some food. When I came back I turned it on and tried to connect, my screen went black. It hadn't restarted or shut down, just gone totally black.

I've restarted a few times to no avail, what could be causing this? How can it be fixed?

Thanks

godfather
23-09-2003, 02:15 PM
>When I came back I turned it on and
> tried to connect, my screen went black. It hadn't
> restarted or shut down, just gone totally black.
>
> I've restarted a few times to no avail, what could be
> causing this? How can it be fixed?

Need details.

Are the lights on in the main PC case?
Are the fans running?
Is the power light on the monitor lit?
When you reboot it, are there any beeps?

When you say "my screen went black" did the PC shut down at that point, or still run (lights and activity on the main PC unit) normally?

What hardware
What version of Windows

Loopy
23-09-2003, 04:23 PM
Sorry, I was wrong actually. Now it restarts when you hit connect, but it freezes on the log on screen. If I restart manually with the reset button it starts up fine.

I have Windows XP professional.

stu140103
23-09-2003, 04:29 PM
> Sorry, I was wrong actually. Now it restarts when you
> hit connect, but it freezes on the log on screen. If
> I restart manually with the reset button it starts up
> fine.

do you get any error messages before is restarts????

Also do you have the blaster patch???

Loopy
23-09-2003, 07:02 PM
No messages. Just a restart.

And, yep I do have the blaster patch.

godfather
23-09-2003, 07:55 PM
> Now it restarts when you
> hit connect

Can you explain?
is "connect" a function key on a type of multimedia keyboard??

If so, was the computer in "standby" or "hibernate" mode prior to this?

If it is going into/being placed in standby or hibernate, then this could be part of or most of the problem.

Sorry about the questions, but you are the only one who has the answers, unfortunately we can't see the PC from this end or guess accurately what power state the PC is in.

Loopy
24-09-2003, 08:50 AM
When I say connect, I mean connect on the dial up connection box.

The computer was not on standby or hibernate, I never use it anyway.

It's ok, the more questions, the more you know, the more you can help :)

Thanks

Pheonix
24-09-2003, 07:26 PM
What type of modem do you use? as in internal or external ?

John.H
24-09-2003, 07:39 PM
Do you have an up to date Anti Virus?

Sometimes viruses can cause these problems esp excess internet traffic

Loopy
25-09-2003, 08:46 AM
I have an internal and my Anti Virus (Norton) is up to date.

Pheonix
25-09-2003, 09:03 AM
My first suggestion would be to go into device manager and remove the modem, restart and make sure it comes up OK. This usually fixes corrupted driver problems ( apart from original mind you).

Jim B
25-09-2003, 09:10 AM
It seems to me your problem started when you installed Sah Downloader and even though you have removed it the symptoms are the same

What is this Sah Downloader and are you sure you have removed it all.

Loopy
25-09-2003, 04:15 PM
Sah Downloader was some spyware that installed itself with iMesh, and when I tried to remove it with Ad Aware my problems began. When I put Sah back, my problem's went away and I used Sah's own uninstaller to get rid of it, I haven't seen it since.

Pheonix
25-09-2003, 04:32 PM
Have a read here (http://www.cexx.org/lspfix.htm) as it may be applicable to you.

Loopy
26-09-2003, 04:32 PM
Thanks Pheonix, but it didn't work :(

Loopy
27-09-2003, 04:38 PM
I have fixed it :)

Well, all I did was put in a new modem, but it did the trick :D

Thanks muchly everyone for your help :)