PDA

View Full Version : Laptop with no cd - help please

rocke
23-09-2003, 10:20 AM
I have a Compaq Lte 5250 laptop with no cd running win 98 and I want to install Office 97 so as to be able to use excel. I bought this cheap laptop because I only want to be able to use excel away from home for 1 week a year. Showing on one of the PC World pages is an ide adaptor which would enable the laptop hdd to be directly connected to my desktop. My desktop has a cd, 1 hdd and runs win xp. As I am only a computer newbie, can a computer expert out there tell me where to get one of these adaptors and tell me step by step how to connect this hdd to my desktop without blowing anything up! and configure it so that I can successfully load this software. Thanks in advance.

golliwog
23-09-2003, 10:36 AM
Get some one to burn a copy of MSExcell onto a cd and put it in the cd drive to install the Excell.

golliwog
23-09-2003, 10:54 AM
Does your laptop have a 3.5 inch floppy drive?

Chilling_Silently
23-09-2003, 11:32 AM
You would be better doing a Link between the systems via a Null-Modem Cable, or a Network if you have a Network Card in the laptop/PC.

If you dont have a Network Card, then you can go for a Null-Modem Cable for around $15ish from DSE :-)

rocke
23-09-2003, 12:03 PM
Yes, the laptop does have a 3.5 inch drive.

rocke
23-09-2003, 12:10 PM
To Chilling_Silently. The laptop has a pcmcia 28k modem but no connecting cable. The desk top has a 33.6k modem.

nomad
23-09-2003, 01:01 PM
U can either copy floppies insanely with a software like winzip or ARJ zipping it to a 1.4MB disk and doing it sooo repetitively. Or like Chill has suggested a null cable, network would be better if u have that thou..

Zip drive is good too, if u have it external thus use on lappie and desktop.
don't bother about the modem, won't work. well technically it can be v slow thou and u need two phonline.

nomad
23-09-2003, 01:04 PM