PDA

View Full Version : Resolution



caffy
16-09-2003, 11:31 AM
Hi,

Was wondering how could I get my resolution higher? I've got my monitor at 1024x768, and thats the higher it can go.

But I do remember that a while ago my brother had fiddled around with my comp and the resolution was set higher than that, something like 1260 or something, it definitely had 12 at the start (so it was 12xx).

Anyway, I liked that setting, so was wondering how i could get it back, do i have to install something for it?

ViewSonic LCD Monitor, 15inch, running XP Pro...

cheers,
caffy

yang11
16-09-2003, 12:17 PM
you can not see that mode because XP wont show beyond your monitor and video card spec.

you can trick XP by altering monitor properties, but its very dangerous. make sure its under warranty.

godfather
16-09-2003, 01:24 PM
The viewsonic LCD monitor is built for display at 1024 x 768.

If you choose a higher resolution (by forcing it to other than the default) it will look horrible. At 1024 x 768, each pixel has exactly 1 pixel allocated to it on the screen.

If you try and go higher, it will try and "average out" the displayed pixels, which will actually give much poorer resolution.

And never try and force it to higher refresh speeds, LCDs dont need to "refresh" like CRT monitors, and usually use 60 Hz.

caffy
16-09-2003, 02:00 PM
Strange, because when it was on the higher resolution, it looked nice.

Oh well, maybe I'll just save up for a 17inch LCD, can those have higher resolution?

-=JM=-
16-09-2003, 03:02 PM
Most 17in LCDs will want you to use 1280*1024 :)

James Busby
16-09-2003, 04:53 PM
.