PDA

View Full Version : How do you back up "copy protected" data CDs?

Billy T
26-08-2003, 10:47 AM
Hi Team

I am new to the world of CD burning so bear with me on this one.

After having to get my Win 2000 CD polished to restore functionality after it accidentally got scratched :8} I decided to make a backup copy to save the original from further trauma. I duly burned a copy, but on testing MS tells me it is not the correct CD, so obviously it is of little use.

I am using Roxio Easy CD & DVD Creator V6 and I see it has an option called Raw mode for "copying some data disks that cannot be copied using a normal copy process." Is this a euphemism for "this mode will overide copy protection"?

That effort was my first coaster and I don't want to build up a matched set of the darned things, so better I ask first, burn later.

Cheers

Billy 8-{) :|

John Grieve
26-08-2003, 10:59 AM
CloneCD is what you need. The unregistered version will burn at the lowest speed until registered but that will get the job done fine. I have always found it better to rip an image to your hardrive then burn it from there rather than burning the copy on the fly. There are good instructions at the site linked.

http://www.clonecd.net/

Chilling_Silently
26-08-2003, 11:40 AM
I too use CloneCD 4, Registered, and its great.

Hang round long enough though and apparently you'll be told that Alcohol 120% is what you need, because CloneCD hasnt been updated in ages, amongst other things!

Kame
26-08-2003, 12:48 PM
I replaced Roxio with Nero ROM which hasn't failed my efforts in copying any type of CD. I do think there's a difference between piracy and having a copy of a purchased CD you still have, including licenses.