PDA

View Full Version : Whoa Dobbin.... Need To Slow My Modem Down



lockie
18-08-2003, 11:44 PM
Have a new motherboard with HSP56MR modem onboard which I need to slow down to 14k4 (our maximum internet speed on the Chatham's). The old simple S37=11 init string command doesn't work on newer modems.

This is the current active profile from the modem

ACTIVE PROFILE: B0 E0 L1 M1 N1 T Q0 V0 W3 X4 Y0 &C1 &D2 &G0 &K3 &P2 &S0 &U0 &
Y0 %C3

%E2 %N0 \A1 \B3 \G0 \K5 \L0 \N3 *Q0 -V90=1

S00=000 S01=000 S02=043 S03=013 S04=010 S05=008 S06=002 S07=060
S08=002 S09=006 S10=014 S11=095 S12=050 S13=000 S14=000 S15=000
S16=000 S17=000 S18=000 S19=000 S20=000 S21=000 S22=000 S23=000
S24=000 S25=005 S26=000 S27=000 S28=000 S29=000 S30=000 S31=000
S32=017 S33=019 S34=021 S35=000 S36=000 S37=015 S38=020 S39=000
S40=000 S41=000 S42=000 S43=000 S44=000 S45=010 S46=000 S47=000
S48=000 S82=000 S86=099 S91=0110

Any thoughts/help/spells would be much appreciated.

Steve L

Jim B
19-08-2003, 11:36 AM
You could try n0s37=12 or 11
This should slow it down to 33k which might enable it to work

tweak\'e
19-08-2003, 11:51 AM
if its the amr modem i'm think it is then simply chuck the $7 pos in the bin and get an old 14/28/33 external modem.

bmason
19-08-2003, 09:37 PM
Agreed.

But if you have to keep it. Try:

at+ms=v34,1,,14400,,14400

lockie
19-08-2003, 11:59 PM
Thanks for the tip, worked a treat, unfortunately due to the satellite system here 14k4 is all we get back to any ISP in NZ

Cheers