PDA

View Full Version : Another AdAware Update(2 on same day!)



Kiwitas
14-08-2003, 12:08 PM
Lavasoft has latest bot ref file O1R208(13-08-2003) available
to take your total in reference library to 11444.

Cheers,Kiwitas,;-)

Billy T
14-08-2003, 07:32 PM
Hmmmm..............

Tried an online update and Adaware tells me I am already up to date, but my current def is OR150 05-07-2003 not O1R208 13-08-2003.

I wonder why that is ?:|

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Curly
14-08-2003, 07:53 PM
More mystery - On switching on my computer and going on line, I received a pop up box headed AdAware and containing the message to the effect, the previous update was corrupt, check for new files now.

The previous DL found 3x tracking cookies, so don't know what was wrong with it, and the new file DL'ed a few minutes ago, found a further 2.

The really strange thing was that after the first download, I had been to really secure sites only and therefore would have believed it to have been really difficult to have picked up any tracking cookies at all.

Well never mind - whatever - we knocked the bast**d's off.

Kiwitas
14-08-2003, 09:20 PM
> Hmmmm..............
>
> Tried an online update and Adaware tells me I am
> already up to date, >
> I wonder why that is ?:|
>
> Cheers
>
> Billy 8-{)

Hi Billy T and others,

You will find this with regular monotony!Patience is the answer here!
if at 1st you don't succeed............................!!

It means the server is busy,as it usually is when updates are 1st posted!
Trust me,there is a new one out there!

Cheers,Kiwitas,;-)

Billy T
15-08-2003, 12:59 AM
Not so apparently Kiwitas.

My build is Version 150 and on following some links I found that Lavasoft/Adaware does not support build versions older than 181, and the new updates do not apply retrospectively. No warning either.

Pretty crap way to run a service, but since it is free I don't feel inclined to complain too much.

Point is, can I upgrade by loading the latest build release over the top or do I have to uninstall and start again. Anybody know?

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

Thomas
15-08-2003, 01:26 AM
I did it over top,all seems well.

Susan B
15-08-2003, 10:21 AM
> Point is, can I upgrade by loading the latest build release over the top or do I have to uninstall and start again. Anybody know?

Well tweak'e (http://pressf1.pcworld.co.nz/thread.jsp?forum=1&thread=37264&message=180527&q=adaware#180527) recommended that you uninstall the previous version before installing the upgraded version.

tweak\'e
15-08-2003, 10:56 AM
billy.........when you update adaware it tells you there is a new ver of adaware out, all you have to do is click the link and it will send you to the site so you can read about it and download it.

Kiwitas
15-08-2003, 10:57 AM
>>
> Pretty crap way to run a service, but since it is
> free I don't feel inclined to complain too much.
>
> Point is, can I upgrade by loading the latest build
> release over the top or do I have to uninstall and
> start again. Anybody know?
>
> Cheers
>
> Billy 8-{)
You are right with 1st paragraph!

I think even Lavasoft suggests you un-install old version?

But the new version was 181, and it is ok to install the later ver 183 over
the top!

It is very seldom that I can get the new ref file updates first time, and at
times have shut down app,reopened it and got the update!

Cheers,Kiwitas,;-)

tweak\'e
15-08-2003, 11:15 AM
>I think even Lavasoft suggests you un-install old version?

correct

>It is very seldom that I can get the new ref file updates first time

the servers don't seem to update very fast. not sure if this is a lavasoft thing or isp cacheing the files (or even NZ mirror).

Terry Porritt
15-08-2003, 12:03 PM
Build 183? I can only see reference to build 181 here:
http://www.lavasoftusa.com/
Am I missing out?

Kiwitas
15-08-2003, 12:53 PM
> Build 183? I can only see reference to build 181

Ooooops!Sorry all,the latest is build6 v181

Cheers,Kiwitas,;-)

Billy T
15-08-2003, 02:08 PM
Uninstalled then downloaded latest version. Despite the uninstall it kept my scanning history and preferences so that was a bonus.

This time I bit the bullet and spent a few minutes customising my scan by restricting it to my C: drive in the first instance, and also unchecking heaps of folders that I know won't be affected by or associated with spyware or adware.

That was worth the effort as it cut my scan time to just a few minutes.

Cheers

Billy 8-{) :)