PDA

View Full Version : TV on your PC .. worth it?

Hawk
11-08-2003, 12:59 AM
Hi,

Although I've been online for several years I'm relatively new to the "Watching TV on your PC" thing...

Is it good? is it worth getting a Tuner card and doing so?, does it take up massive amount of cpu resources in doing so?

Some feedback from people in the know would be good..

Thanks!

godfather
11-08-2003, 01:11 AM
> Is it good?

Its not "quite" as good as a TV, but close.

> is it worth getting a Tuner card and
> doing so?,

If you want to watch TV in a "window' on your PC, yes

> does it take up massive amount of cpu
> resources in doing so?

It depends, mostly on the TV card and compatability with your graphics adapter. If they are compatable, then the loading is minimal however "full screen" and non compatability can stress a cpu somewhat.

I can get 100% CPU usage at full screen on a 2GHz P4 (no overlay compatability)
At 95% full screen only 20% CPU. Your mileage may vary.

One thing however you do need a good outside aerial for a reasonable picture, as the PC generates a lot of local interference. Don't consider an internal aerial.

Hawk
11-08-2003, 01:16 AM
Hey thanks for your reply,

What card would you recommend?

IS it only certain cards that pick up whisper: (sky) ? hehe or do all them with the right software?

I have a fairly new system.

Thanks

godfather
11-08-2003, 01:29 AM
I don't know what cards are around at the moment.

Will they get Sky?? You must be able to receive the encrypted UHF channels if they are transmitted in your area, they occupy a normal channel slot, your card will pick them up just like your TV will.

A card is only a TV tuner after all. I could not comment on decoding software of course, as I know nothing about such matters ....

Tobas
11-08-2003, 09:05 AM