PDA

View Full Version : Word 2002

JJJJJ
25-07-2003, 06:47 AM
Is anyone successfuly useing word 2002???
I have a file that contains about 100 pages. All I need to do is to format it and then I can print it.
Problem 1. When I remove a paragraph it leaves a blank space. Why doesn't the whole thing back up and fill the gaps. The only way I can do it is to select the following lot and then drag it up.
Problem 2. I want to change the font sizes and bold type numerous headings. I select the heading, resize it and the whole document resizes. If I select the heading and hit bold, the font size changes. Have you seen 100 pages written in 18 point?
I have been useing Word 6 for a few years and have never had this sort of problem. But then Word 6 came with an 800 page user manual. In this latest version the only help I can get is from a paper clip. Ask it a question and you get answers that have nothing to do with the problem. What else would you get from a paper clip?
Am I just stupid or is it Microsoft?
How will word 6 work with windows xp? I might have to go back to it.
Encouragement needed.
And why doesn't PC World put an automatic spell checker in this forum?
Jack.

Thomas
25-07-2003, 10:22 AM
When you say automatic,do you mean it corrects spelling without asking?
If so never heard of that b4.

Susan B
25-07-2003, 11:07 AM
> Is anyone successfuly useing word 2002???

Yes, I am. :-)

> Problem 1. When I remove a paragraph it leaves a blank space. Why doesn't the whole thing back up and fill the gaps. The only way I can do it is to select the following lot and then drag it up.

You probably have to remove one of the invisible paragraph breaks (what you get when you press Enter at the end of a sentence). Hold down Shift + Ctrl together then press the number 8 key to show all formatting marks - they look like this: .