PDA

View Full Version : Networking between modems...



forrest44
23-07-2003, 01:30 PM
Hi

Can I network 2 PCs with a single phone cable through thier modems?

If I can, Please could someone tell me how.

And could someone tell me if I can do it with Linux :-D

Cheers

Odin
23-07-2003, 01:44 PM
No. Unless you have two phone lines then you can dial up the other computer on a VPN.

You can get two Phone Line LAN cards that will connect two computers via you homes phone wiring but it would be cheaper and simpler just to get 2 network cards and a crossover cable Total cost about $50. or chepaer if you go second hand.

Graham L
23-07-2003, 02:05 PM
Yes.

You will need to find the appropriate settings so that the modems are in "leased-line mode", with one set to "originate", the other to "answer".

You can get the same effect with a null-modem serial cable. :D

If you haven't got a modem manual (:D), try "hayes codes" in google.

Not too difficult in linux. You will need a different routine on one of the virtual terminals. I've oly done it with fuill dialin, using a PABX, but leased line will work just as well. Look at the HOWTOs, and Rute, and Linux Cookbook. :D

Odin
23-07-2003, 02:38 PM
Well will you look at that. Learn something new everyday :D And a day where something new is learnt isn't a complete waste after all :D