PDA

View Full Version : CPU upgrade



had_to_change_it
15-07-2003, 08:13 PM
Hi, I am thinking on upgrading my CPU, at the moment i have a 800MHz duron, i don't no the maximum speed processor my motherboard can handle, if i upgrade to a processor that was to fast would it harm my MB,
or would it just not start, i have tryed to research my MB but can only find that its a standard compaq.
Thanks

the highlander
15-07-2003, 11:25 PM
What model compaq ?

had_to_change_it
15-07-2003, 11:52 PM
All it says on the front is COMPAQ Presario, then 5000 down the bottom, i have searched the net but have found no 5000 models similar.

Odin
16-07-2003, 11:57 AM
Compaqs usually have a model number on the back of the case near the rear panel. Try that number by e-mailing HP/Compaq for assistance. BTW as you are running an 800 duron then you should be able to go up to the 1300 duron without any problems They are abou $56 brand new. Or you can enter the model number into the box on this page may help you out. http://productfinder.support.hp.com/tps/ProductFinder?h_lang=en&h_cc=us&cc=us&h_page=hpcom&h_tool=prodhomes&h_query=compaq+presario+5000&submit.x=5&submit.y=3