PDA

View Full Version : Problems installing new software

Andrew B
12-07-2003, 11:15 AM
I am trying to install a CD Rom that came with a Lets Learn French book. The minimum system requirements for it are: 386SX processor, MS Windows 3.1 or higher and MS Windows 95 compatable. I have a Celeron 600, 128 MB RAM, 70% full 10 Gig HD, Win ME. But on trying to install I get an error message 'Insufficient memory or disc space'. I emailed the book's publishers and received a very helpful reply with instructions on how to install it on Win XP system. So I emailed them back to tell them again that I had Win ME and I have just received a reply telling me that their technical dept say that the XP instructions should work with ME, but it doesn't. Is there any way this CD ROM will work on my computer?

godfather
12-07-2003, 11:24 AM
I have no knowledge of the software, but its obviously quite old.

I wonder if the error relates to the amount of memory free in the "DOS" block below 640k, as it sounds like early 16 bit DOS software.

If it can run under XP, its promising (as XP has no DOS only a DOS emulator) but it may require a lot of fiddling under Windows ME.

Old 16 bit software can be troublesome under ME, as it causes resource allocation problems.

Captive
12-07-2003, 11:30 AM
One possible solution is to emulate a machine.

I agree with godfather that running software this old could cause troubles and in severe cases may cause system file damage or data file damage. Exact occurances of this will vary.

I myself would recommend Vmware or PC Anywhere to run a virtual machine. Or perhaps use an older hard disk with an older version of windows.

I understand you want to use it with Windows ME. That in some ways is trying to fit Old parts to a car. As i have stated may cause more problems than its worth

Good luck with trying to get it to work if you want to. I would recommend a backup before attempting any major changes just to be sure.

Andrew B
12-07-2003, 11:06 PM
bump