PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Question About Which CPU I Should Buy

ComputerWalrus
10-07-2003, 01:18 AM
Ok after spending weeks learning about the intricate task of upgrading a Socket 370 Presario with a 700mhz Celeron, no AGP slot and a insanely small case, I've decided to replace the entire thing as it will probably be cheaper. So Mr C Walrus heads into the world of computer building......

Now I'm chosen most of my components and don't really need anything fancy since I'm a student and don't need anymore debt, but I'm stuck on the motherboard-processor combo. Pentium 4's seem overpriced for what I actually need so I was going to stick with the Celerons that I am used to but the more I've read about Athlons the better they sound compared to a Celeron in terms of value. So basically am I better off going with a 2.0/2.4 Celeron or a Athlon XP 2.2/2.4. I assume its the latter but could any confirm this as its hard to know whether some online reviews are biased.

Thanks.

metla
10-07-2003, 01:25 AM
How do you know our/my opinion isn't biased?

Anyway,the atholon spanks the celeron and the p4,so ya cant go wrong.(although when it comes to a mobo,avoid the via chipset,get nforce2 if you find something in the right pricebraket,or sis)

sc0ut
10-07-2003, 01:40 AM
i agree with mela keep away from Via
look at the new Soltek boards (the best AMD boards at good prices)
they have been leading the way in AMD in the last few months
some have onboard graphics that is faster thhan a 64MB GeForce 4MX, witch would mean you'd save money and not have to buy a graphics card or you could buy a good graphics down the track

KiwiTT
10-07-2003, 12:13 PM
Go with the Athlon XP (Barton) 2800Mhz, This will kick Celeron to touch and give the latest P4 a run for it's money.

If you compared price/performance you can not go past an Athlon XP. Be sure you get a good mobo that fully supports the Barton. Either 333 or 400 Mhz FSB and the RAM to match.

Lohsing
10-07-2003, 12:38 PM