PDA

View Full Version : scandisc

elenihan
08-07-2003, 03:55 PM
Im working on w95 and I have Incredimail.
Whenever I try to run scandisc I get a msge that it has been interrupted 10 times etc. I shut down my screensaver and wallpaper before I start, what else can I do to get scandisc to run without interruptions. Simple language please, im a novice !!

LucyL
08-07-2003, 04:08 PM
Start your computer in safe mode (press F8 when it begins to boot) and then run scandisk.

Cheers Lucy

willbry
08-07-2003, 05:57 PM
Another option is to press CTRL + ALT + DEL all at the same time , In the window that comes on screen you will see all the programmes that are running and preventing Scan Disc from completing its job. Highlight each of these in turn [except Explorer and Systray. these two must be left running] and click End Task. The programme should disappear from the list. Proceed down the list clicking End Task for each . When only Explorer and Systray remain, exit and you should be able to run Scan Disk without any problems

Bazza
08-07-2003, 10:41 PM
Hi Elenihan.. The use of ctl alt del, to close programs is one way, but a little tedious.

"End it all" is a freeware application that has been recommended on PF1 previously. It will close all open applications, except the essential ones, in one hit. It makes scandisk & defrag run sweetly.

More information, and download is available here:

http://home.ptd.net/~don5408/toolbox/enditall/

Misty
09-07-2003, 08:50 PM
Hi Elenihan
This is something suggested to me by Jen C a short while ago that works a treat:

Another sure fire way of getting into Safe Mode without testing your reflex skills is to select a Startup Menu to display automatically when you boot your machine. To do this:

Start > Run > type msconfig then OK. On the General Tab click the Advanced button. Then put a tick beside Enable Startup Menu. Click OK and OK again.