PDA

View Full Version : amd 2700+ upgrade



pavlr
30-06-2003, 07:05 PM
I upgraded my CPU from AMD 1600+ to 2700+
Now I am unable to change bios setting 'frequency/voltage control' - DRAM Clock (MHz) from 166-DDR333 to DDR400. I could prior to the upgraded chip. I have DDR400 ram 512. It is greyed out so can't change a thing. Please help.
Any suggestions?
Thanks in advance
Paul.

greenglass
30-06-2003, 07:20 PM
pay a visit to your motherboard manufacturers website, check to see if there is a bios upgrade available, some of these faster cpu's require it.
hth,

nicnz
30-06-2003, 07:25 PM
If I recall correctly, is an "automatic" option in thee bios which sets the frequencies.

Have a look at the options above the frequency settings, as these can dictate was options are enabled available below...

Hope this helps,
Nic

pavlr
30-06-2003, 07:27 PM
Already have the latest January bios update - could it have something to do with the barton core for the 333 FSB CPU's?
Thanks
Paul

pavlr
30-06-2003, 07:29 PM
Tried that - no luck

tweak\'e
30-06-2003, 09:49 PM
it may simply be there is no manual setting for that cpu. my mobo is much the same, to run some of the higher end cpu's you have to use it on auto.

the other thing is if there is a synchro setting for the ram timing. (yeah i know i can't spell ;-) )