PDA

View Full Version : ibm ps2 valuepoint ram



rmcb
24-06-2003, 10:25 AM
Trying to find ram that will work in this machine.
486 cpu 2x4mb sticks at the moment, every other stick I have used gives me an error on boot and if I continue win95 only sees 8mb.
Cheers

rmcb
24-06-2003, 10:46 AM
Sorry it is an ibm ps/valuepoint 433sx/d

Murray P
24-06-2003, 11:50 AM
Try www.trademe.co.nz Have you tried swapping it around the slots. Don't know the machine but does it need to be installed in pairs?

Cheers Murray P

Graham L
24-06-2003, 02:51 PM
Try "VP memory reference" to google. The first link if gives will be helpful. I suspect you need parity SIMMs. Check whether the BIOS setup will let you turn off parity.

Your present SIMMs will have 9 or 3 chips if they are
parity ones.

Murray P
24-06-2003, 07:13 PM
Hmm. I have some 9 chip sims lying around here somewhere No use for them now. Will dig them out if you wish.

Cheers Murray P

rmcb
24-06-2003, 08:11 PM
Thanks for the reply's people.
Murray P yes I am interested, if you think they will work.
I have had a play with the stuff I have here but none of it works.
Mail me rmcb at free dot net dot nz
Will do the Google search also
Thanks

Murray P
24-06-2003, 09:40 PM
Done