PDA

View Full Version : HP Pavilion 6306



jackyht
18-06-2003, 11:04 PM
Hi guys.

I got this computer HP pavilion 6306. I want to make a clean install on Windows ME instead of using their backup disk which got 98 and upgrade (that takes ages)

However, once the clean install have been finalized (I only got black/white colour screen), if I put my backup disk in, the disc will be locked and can't open the setup files because i lost the registration number compared with my motherboard and the CD. so wot should I do??? does anyone know wot kind of driver for my sound card and graphics card respectively for this computer system.

Thanks and much appreciated
jacky

BootyLicious
19-06-2003, 12:20 AM
Download the drivers from here HP.com (http://h20015.www2.hp.com/en/softwareCategory.jhtml?lc=en&pagetype=software&prodId=hppavilion8336&sw_lang=en)

Steve Askew
19-06-2003, 09:01 AM
Hi , You can use the win98 drivers off the Application Cd that came with your PC & they should work fine with ME,They did on our old 6306.

The autorun feature of the cd won't work as it requires a file that is only installed if you use the original win98 recovery Cd.
So you will have to browse through the cd to find the drivers you want.

Hope this helps
cheers Steve

jackyht
19-06-2003, 12:18 PM
Hi Steve

Thanks for your reply,

So do u actually installed Windows Me instead of going recovery from Windows 98 to Windows Me

do u exactly remember what driver that you are using on that Application CD??? could you please tell me so that I know which one is the most suitable for this computer....

Thanks
Jacky

jackyht
19-06-2003, 12:21 PM
Hi again

the most important driver is the graphics card which can make to 16 bit instead of those 256 colour and also the sound card...

I wouldn't worry about the modem driver because i don't use that anyway. I have network card instead.

Thanks again
jacky

Steve Askew
19-06-2003, 01:47 PM
I did a clean install of win ME, I no longer have the 6306 but by memory it uses SIS chipset for the video.
You will have to browse that application CD for the graphics driver.
Don't worry if you select the wrong driver as it shoudn't let you use it.

Hope this makes sense

Cheers Steve