PDA

View Full Version : Slot 370 to Slot 1 adaptor



Spacemannz
06-06-2003, 10:20 PM
Hi all.

Anyone know where I could find one of these in the Auckland / Mt Eden area? At the mo, I have a P3 which is slot 1. And I'm planning on getting a Slot 370 mobo. I know you can buy these adaptors, but where!

This new mobo is pretty cheap, and looks pretty good, (firewire, usb2) x4, and lan, and video for about $140.00. And supports more memory than the one i have at the mo (DDR compared to SDRAM), as well.

Any info appreciated

Thanx

Babe Ruth
06-06-2003, 10:31 PM
Spacemannz, Have you tried Eden Computers Ltd?
Unit 6, 19 Edwin Street
Mt Eden, Auckland
Phone: 09 6388188
Fax: 09 6388778
Email: sales@edencomputer.co.nz

Postal Address
PO Box 8018 Symonds Street
Auckland
Cheers, Babe.

Spacemannz
06-06-2003, 11:31 PM
Oh well theyre down the road. I usually go to there. They dont have most things I'm after lol. I'll check it out tomorrow. Ta

Mike
07-06-2003, 09:56 AM
Try ETC Computers:

611 Mt Eden Rd
Mt. Eden, Auckland
Ph: 09-638 5031
Fax: 09-638 5032

I bought some stuff from them the other day (well a different branch) and they were great :) a lot of in-store stock it seems too. Worth a try.

Mike.

tweak\'e
07-06-2003, 10:49 AM
it will be interesting to see IF you can find one. i have yet to see a socket 370 to slot 1 converter. slot 1 to socket 370 coverters are easy enough (so you can use celeron-p3 on a slot 1 mobo).

good luck :)

Mike
07-06-2003, 10:53 AM
> it will be interesting to see IF you can find one. i
> have yet to see a socket 370 to slot 1 converter.
> slot 1 to socket 370 coverters are easy enough (so
> you can use celeron-p3 on a slot 1 mobo).
>
> good luck :)

LOL That's a very good point :)

Mike.

Spacemannz
07-06-2003, 02:06 PM
I tried Eden computers. Nope, they have nothing. I'll try ETC if I can find it. I have the CPU which is a P3 550 (slot 1). It is currently in a mobo. BUT its pretty crappy. It only goes to 768, whereas the mobo I saw goes to 2 gb and uses DDR instead of SDRAM.

Thanx for the info guys!

tweak\'e
07-06-2003, 03:48 PM
are you sure that new mobo is a socket 370?? got a make/model number?? most 370 mobo's are end of line ......no one really makes them any more (except a few for via c3 processor).

godfather
07-06-2003, 04:39 PM
I'm with tweak'e on the probability no such adapter exists.

The slot 1 to 370 certainly does, and 370 to slot 1 descriptor is used to describe the same thing unfortunately, so be careful about the description without seeing one..

If you stand back and think what it would need to look like, you may also realise it could be a non-runner.
Its easy to make the other way around (which is why its available of course?)

Spacemannz
09-06-2003, 08:38 PM
Yup its definitely a 370 socket. The new one

http://www.edenonline.co.nz/p.aspx?259638 is where the mobo is for sale. SKT - 370. I take it that means socket 370.

tweak\'e
09-06-2003, 09:34 PM
info on that mobo here (http://www.viavpsd.com/product/C3M266_spec.jsp?motherboardId=101)

personally i wouldn't bother. go find a 2nd hand slot 1 motherboard with no onboard vid and use the spare $$ for a decent vid card. a slot1 p3 dosn't really run fast enough to warrant DDR ram.