PDA

View Full Version : 40GBHDD only shows as 32GB



abrenn
23-05-2003, 12:54 AM
I installed Western Digital 40GB HD with FDisk but only showed as 32GB. I am using Win 98SE on IBM Aptiva and the primary HD is 10GB. How do I get it to show or be able to use the full 40GB?? I have been to the WD web site and got their Device Driver Update installation guide, but I dont know where to extract the Drivers and BIOS files from, can someone help please???

Blue_face
23-05-2003, 01:20 AM
before you update your bios U should check if your jumper is set to slave, not limited capacity. From memory, if you use the fdisk from the win98 disk, u wont be able to get full size due to win98 does not have LBA Support. perhaps u should try use a winME disk for partition.

nzStan
23-05-2003, 01:37 AM
Win98SE do support LBA. But you need to enable that in your motherboard BIOS.

Unfortunately some motherboard BIOS do not support LBA and that's where you will need to download a BIOS update (from IBM for your case).

Once you have downloaded the bios, uncompress it and follow the instructions (usually in the readme.txt file).

On most system where I had to flash the bios, I create a boot floppy disk, copy the bios update program to it, reboot PC using the floppy disk, run the bios update program, wait for the message to say reboot.

If you are unsure, then take it to an experience PC technician. Incorrectly flashing a BIOS could result in the PC not working altogether.

Merlin
23-05-2003, 01:47 AM
Fixations with Bios!

Try reading first (http://www.plasma-online.de/index.html?content=http%3A//www.plasma-online.de/english/upgrade/tweak/fixes/fix_harddisk_bios.html)

Big John
23-05-2003, 10:11 AM
While drives are indcated at a certain GB capacity you very rarely actually get that from them. The advertised GB is usually the raw data amount.
Then of course once it is formatted you immediately lose some. 8GB seems a bit much though but be aware you wont get the full 40GB out of it even if your BIOS is set right.

kiwistag
23-05-2003, 10:33 AM
FAT32 partitions are sometimes limited to less than 40GB, I have seen multiple scnarios with different drives where in some cases it will format the whole 40GB (minus FAT data) or about 32GB. Try also the likes of Partition Magic to format it, it can bypass some of the restraints. How many people have seen a full 80GB partition?
The other option is to use a Disk overlay a well, although it can degrade PC performance.
Try other Partitioning software and if that doesn't work, try the BIOS upgrade.
LBA is native in most win9x versions, otherwise for overall compatibility CHS is used (more native in Linux).

Smithie 38
23-05-2003, 10:34 AM
The discrepancy is most likley caused by the way that HDD manufacturers label the drive. 1Gb is usually equal to 1,000,000,000 bytes by the manufacturer, but the computer (rightly) sees it as 1,073,741,824 bytes

Pheonix
23-05-2003, 10:40 AM
Read what Merlin suggested. He is absolutley correct. You require the updated version of Fdisk available from MS. It is an inherent problem with win98. Another Microsoft induced problem.

attaboy999
23-05-2003, 02:15 PM
don't worry about that, it sometime happens with my as well, it shows less than the capacity of my hard drive, but u still have and can use 40 gygabites.

ps: how are u checking it?
are u selecting the hidden files, if there are any!

wintertide
23-05-2003, 03:42 PM
Have a llok on the hard drive label and see if it has an option to jumper it to appear as only 32GB in size. My Seagate 40GB drive has this option. Check that you haven't accidentally jumpered it to appear as a 32GB drive.

Terry Porritt
23-05-2003, 04:06 PM
Not absolutely related, but for HDDS over 64GB as Phoenix has said there is an FDISK update from Microsoft. As usual Google is so much easier to find things on the Microsoft site, even knowing it was there searching for fdisk for Windows 98, Microsoft said there was no such thing!!!!!!!

Here is the useful link to it using Google click here (http://download.microsoft.com/download/Win98/Update/8266R/W98/EN-US/263044USA8.EXE)

Terry Porritt
23-05-2003, 04:08 PM
Got it from here:
http://www.powerspec.com/support/tech_notes/fdisk_reporting.html

Terry Porritt
23-05-2003, 04:32 PM
Here we go again, using Microsofts weird logic you have to search for Windows 98 Large IDE. IDE what? controller? stupid.
Anyway for drives over 32GB there is a patch.

here (http://www.microsoft.com/windows98/downloads/contents/WURecommended/S_WUFeatured/bigide/Default.asp)

Pheonix
23-05-2003, 04:41 PM
LOL Terry. It must be logical to someone........that person must be found!!!

mikebartnz
23-05-2003, 04:58 PM
It should show up as about 39GB. Try creating an extended partition with fdisk and see if you get the other 7 or so GB.

Lohsing
23-05-2003, 05:15 PM
Do as Wintertide has suggested and check you haven't jumpered it to 32gigs only.

Lo.

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:32 AM
Checked and found jumpers in the correct position. Evidently win98se does have LBA support. Thanks for the info.

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:37 AM
Have done as suggested and still get the same results but thanks for the info

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:38 AM
Thanks for the info.

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:41 AM
Tried BIOS upgrade with the same result,but thanks for the info.

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:44 AM
I was checking it in Fdisk and also POST.

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:48 AM
There is no jumper to limit to 32gb,but thanks for the thought.

abrenn
04-06-2003, 12:54 AM
There is no jumper to limit to 32gb but thanks for the thought.

Chilling_Silently
04-06-2003, 01:04 AM
Im with Mikebartnz on this, try making an extended partition...
Otherwise, see about updating the afformentioned :-)

Merlin
04-06-2003, 01:20 AM
Take your pick

Operating system partition limitations above 8.4 Gb (http://www.biosupgrade.co.uk/support_oshdd.htm) - a Windows problem

System only sees 32Gb (http://www.biosupgrade.co.uk/support_32gb.htm) - a BIOS problem

Spacemannz
08-06-2003, 01:24 PM
32GB is the max for FAT32.

The only way, you'll get 40gb or near it, is if you format in NTFS. BUT you can't with 98, coz Windows 98 cant read NTFS partitions. The prob may have been the BIOS. BUT in this case, this also applies to the operating system / and the way the hdd was formatted.

Lohsing
08-06-2003, 01:53 PM
> 32GB is the max for FAT32.

Ummm... are you sure about this? I used to have a 40gig which showed the full 40 just fine under 98SE...

Lo.

Chilling_Silently
08-06-2003, 01:56 PM
Yeah, Ive done an 80 Gig FAT32..

I think its the diff between Win98 and Win98SE or something, but dont hold me on that...

Spacemannz
08-06-2003, 02:14 PM
Oops, I lie. 127.53 for 98. 2000 is 32 GB

Pheonix
08-06-2003, 02:18 PM
I believe that MS has put out a patch for 2K to stop that limitation of 32gig on FAT32.