PDA

View Full Version : Joy for drivers



Ron Bakker
15-05-2003, 10:55 AM
This more an observation than a question .
A few days ago I changed my O.S from win98 to win2k for stability reasons. I completely reformated my system to get a clean slate.
My system is a p4 2gighz with a msi ti4200(this is leading sowhere).
When I first bought my vid card I just down loaded A driver straight from Nvidia. Although I was impressed with the changes it made to the general picture quality, ureal T 2003 was still quit jittery. & even Q3A would have this now & then split second pause.
After the refomat, new O.S & downloading a new vid card driver from Msi It self. MAN does she boggie, not only does ureal play well, it plays faster as well, q3a plays even faster.
So I'm guessing I should give the credit to the vid card driver, cause I think w2k is more of a ram hog than win98 from what I have heard.

CYaBro
15-05-2003, 11:13 AM
Sweet! Just out of curiosity do you know what version of the drivers you used in Win98 and what version you are using now?

Chilling_Silently
15-05-2003, 11:15 AM
Yes, Win2K does use a bit more RAM than 98 :-)

Did you update to DirectX 9 on either PC, that will certainly increase performance!!

Ron Bakker
15-05-2003, 11:22 AM
Um the old one don't know but me have look through system for new driver number.

Ron Bakker
15-05-2003, 11:31 AM
nv_disp version 6.13.10.4107
direct x 8.1


I wonder what Mini-vdd means?

Kame
15-05-2003, 12:04 PM
If you are using NTFS expect Win2k to be slower, especially if your swap file resides on NTFS partitions. I have tested the swap on NTFS and FAT32 to realise that FAT32 is much more quicker, and I believe having it on FAT16 would be faster still.

I have had no problems with the Q3 on Win98-XP using the latest drivers from NVidia, Although RH is my preferred choice for playing Q3 as it's boosted the performance out of the game.

Do you play Q3 online? What mod and where? If not, you should play online.

Ron Bakker
15-05-2003, 12:32 PM
Re: Kame
Play online no not yet.
I heard about some 200mb mod for q3a where the setting is out on the streets.
Trouble is 200mb of down load on standard internet connection, Yikes
RH ??
Swap files are not a problem if one has big junks of ram I would be guessing. Eg 512 of 333