PDA

View Full Version : virus?



jayal
12-05-2003, 08:49 PM
just how effective is A.V.G.anti-virus? - o/s is win98 and recently showing all the signs of being infected (i think) such as, system is slow - defrag won't, and suggests to run scan disc which freezes after a few minutes requiring reboot - and now the dial-up won't connect (suggests checking configuration) - i managed to get on line by making a new connection - have run the AVG anti-virus but it doesn't detect anything - i need some help please (godfather?? tweakie??)

Jen C
12-05-2003, 09:01 PM
If you suspect your AVG has been disabled, you might want to try an online scan here (http://security.symantec.com/ssc/home.asp?j=1&langid=ie&venid=sym&plfid=23&pkj=FGPCESLHFEPGEVVSDUX).

Have you tried running defrag and scandisk in safe mode? Also, are you using Adaware or Spybot?

Jen

jayal
12-05-2003, 09:14 PM
thanks jen but can't use symantec, it requires I.E. and i use navigator - yes to safe mode and ad-aware - ????

bmason
12-05-2003, 09:20 PM
AVG won't pick up spyware. Give adaware a run: http://www.lavasoft.de

mikebartnz
12-05-2003, 09:29 PM
I recently picked up from the net a comparison spreadsheet file and was somewhat disappointed in the results for AVG as that was what I was using. I plan on doing a bit of work on it and posting here. But having said that as the majority of people with an anti-virus program do not keep it up to date it becomes a bit irrelevant.

Susan B
14-05-2003, 09:50 AM
> can't use symantec, it requires I.E. and i use navigator

Well if you are using Windows you are sure to have IE and could make a dispensation to use it to try the Symantec online virus scanner.

There is another online virus scanner here (http://housecall.antivirus.com/) if you want to try that one. Not sure if you need IE for it though.