PDA

View Full Version : Double ads in Opera



sam m
19-04-2003, 09:30 AM
Is anyone else using Opera getting double ads.
This doesn't happen all the time and doesn't seem to appear with IE. This has started happening about 2 weeks ago. Talk about doubleclick!
Double Ad (http://sal.neoburn.net/pf1images/pressf1ad.jpg)

sam m

mark c
19-04-2003, 10:34 AM
Well sam m I use Opera 6.01 and I don't see any double ads but then I don't in yr screenshot either.

:D mc

Jen C
19-04-2003, 10:37 AM
I normally block ads, but I just removed the ad-blocking function of my firewall and had a look.

With Opera 7 I am also seeing the double-set of Citrix ads, but with IE6 you only get the single ad ?:| The double-set only seems to happen on the home page as well. They take up a fair bit of screen real estate as well!

Talk about weird.

Just previewed this post and got the double Citrix ad appearing on this page. It must be that particular ad perhaps??

turns Ad Blocking back on again

tweak\'e
19-04-2003, 10:46 AM
mmmmm.....well i don't see ads on my snail paced connection ;-)

what ver of opera do you have (and os). latest windows ver is 7.10

mark c
19-04-2003, 10:46 AM
>>With Opera 7 I am also seeing the double-set of Citrix ads,

O I C. Yes I get that too, thought it was just advertising gimmickry. Sure does take up space but I'm used to that.

cheers and happy Oestre. mc

Jen C
19-04-2003, 11:02 AM
> what ver of opera do you have (and os). latest
> windows ver is 7.10

This is what I am using:
Version 7.0
Build 2637
Platform Win32
System Windows XP
Java Sun Java Runtime Environment version 1.4
With my brief look without the Ad-blocker on, it seems only to be the Citrix ad doing the double-display trick, the ICE Expo ad displays normally.

tweak\'e
19-04-2003, 11:10 AM
version 7.10
Build 2840
Platform Win32

:-)

java is 1.4.1_02

Jen C
19-04-2003, 11:54 AM
Okay, well I just ran off and downloaded/installed the latest version of Opera:
Version 7.10
Build 2840
Platform Win32
System Windows XP
Sun Java Runtime Environment version 1.4But the double Citrix ad still happens. This confirms that the problem lies with the Citrix ad in combination with Opera regardless of what version you are using.

I have been meaning to upgrade to Version 7.10 anyway :-)

Jen

stevie_boy
19-04-2003, 04:38 PM
No double Citrix ads (http://sal.neoburn.net/pf1images/fineforme.png) for me. I must be lucky :D

Using Opera:
Version: 7.10
Build: 2840
Platform: Win32
System: Windows XP Pro (SP1)

Java: Sun Java Runtime Environment version 1.4

sam m
19-04-2003, 04:58 PM
thanks for replies.

looks like I will have to upgrade to 7.10 (I'm on 7.01 now) but I have been on 7.01 for a while and only noticed this maybe over the last 2 weeks. I normally only upgrade anything only if there is a benefit. This is not annoying or by any stretch of the imagination a big deal, I was just curious as to why.

sam m

tommy
19-04-2003, 05:33 PM
> looks like I will have to upgrade to 7.10 (I'm on 7.01 now)

It is worth upgrading to 7.10, they have fixed quite a few bugs since 7.01.

sam m
20-04-2003, 12:14 AM
Have just upgraded (I installed 7.10 over 7.01).

Version
7.10
Build
2840
Platform
Win32
System
Windows XP

Java
Sun Java Runtime Environment version 1.4

However the problem is still there. It has changed a little as now there is a horizontal scroll bar so now it does not look half as bad.

Interesting that others here have commented that 7.10 does not show double ad.

might worry about it another day as it is only intermittent and not a biggie.

thanks anyway guys

sam m

Jen C
20-04-2003, 12:16 AM
I changed to the latest version, but I still got the double-ads when the ad-blocker was disabled. :(

Jen

sam m
20-04-2003, 12:52 AM
what ad blocker are you using jen?

sam m

Jen C
20-04-2003, 12:55 AM
I am using
"Nortons Personal Firewall 2003" which include an ad-blocking function.

Jen