PDA

View Full Version : HP720a downgraded



Nomad1
10-04-2003, 02:12 PM
When I brought my 720a it had XP installed - XP wouldn't support any of the games and other software that I had so we re-formatted intp Fat32 and loaded ME - does anyone know how I can get ME to recognise the HP's cd writer - HP themselves are no help what so ever.

Cheers
Shaun

godfather
10-04-2003, 02:17 PM
Is it being recognised in the BIOS?

I would have thought that ME would recognise most peripherals.

My HP PC's tended to use the Cable Select option on the IDE bus, and I wonder if this is an issue. All drives were set to cable select, but were also quite happy under Master (HDD) and Slave (CD-RW). Check the jumpers on the devices themselves?

Nomad1
10-04-2003, 02:23 PM
Thanks - I haven't checked the bios settings.
The fault came to my notice when I tried to use Nero to copy a cd.
And because the 720a was purpose built for XP - no-one else has had any ideas either.
Will try your suggestions when I get home.
Thanks