PDA

View Full Version : HCI & SCI Load errors on Toshiba Portege 3490CT



Billy T
03-04-2003, 08:34 PM
Hi Team

You may recall I bought a second hand laptop a couple of months back, It had a fresh installation of W2K from the recovery CD and it is working fine except for one irritating problem.

Every time I try to open the control panel, before it leaps into life I get a series of "HCI Load Error" and "SCI Load Error" messages, after which it all works normally.

I have searched high and low on the Net and found only one reference, but that referred to a Toshiba Libretto 70CT which wasn't intended to run W2K anyway.

The only clues I have is that it could be tied in with THCI.DLL & SHCI.DLL, or it could be associated with Fn-esse which gives extended functionality to the Function key.

Can anyone put me out of my misery please?

Cheers

Billy 8-{) :(

Babe Ruth
03-04-2003, 10:26 PM
Billy T,

I think you may have to reinstall (update) the Toshiba Utilities which are available for your model from Toshiba_Portege (http://209.167.114.38/support/Download/ln_byModel.ht) just put your product (Notebook) family (Portege & Libretto) and model (3490CT) into the search and it will give the downloads available.

Cheers, Babe.

Billy T
04-04-2003, 09:08 AM
Hi Babe

Thanks for your post, it sounds like exactly what I need but that link gives a 404 response, and the IP address in the 404 returns a "not authorised" response.

I'd be grateful if you could check the link and update it.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)

[b][pre]I'm not trying to teach you how to suck eggs, but
did you know that you can run links from the preview
screen to see if they work before posting?

Babe Ruth
04-04-2003, 09:23 AM
Billy_T

My apologies cutting and pasting not up to scratch....

Toshiba Drivers By Model (http://209.167.114.38/support/Download/ln_byModel.htm)

Cheers, Babe.

Billy T
04-04-2003, 11:47 AM
Thanks Babe, cut right to the chase that time!

Now, which darned Utilities am I looking at, and how do I know if they are even related to this problem?

I think I can pass on Mobile Extensions, while Power Extensions looks a likely possibility, however the Fn-esse/HWSetup is the one referred to in one post I found that mentions the same error messages I get, but is related to converting a Tecra from W98. ?:|

Read about it Here (http://cspry.co.uk/computing/tecra_8100_w2k.html) under Point 7, Service Packs & Security Updates.

From the sound of it I actually need to disable the Fn-esse utility, but being a utility, surely it wouldn't be running anyway unless intentionally started to make configuration changes.

Mobile computing is so much more confusing than desktop stuff!

Cheers

Billy 8-{) :|

Babe Ruth
04-04-2003, 12:23 PM
Billy_T,

If you were to get the Toshiba utilities then the one labelled "Utility Win 2000 Toshiba Utility (Fn-esse/HWSetup) 1.02.04" P348E2UT.exe (http://209.167.114.38/support/Download/files_downloads/p3480/P348e2ut.exe) was the one. However that reference site you gave from Christopher Spry was very good and his recommendation would appear to be relevant. If you don't want/need the functionality (FN-key/defined keystroke support) then it should be fine. Deinstall the current utilities and go from there.

Cheers, Babe.

Billy T
04-04-2003, 02:51 PM
I'm pleased you thought the site to be of value Babe.

I like to think I am quite creative at searching the Net but I tried for hours and hours using both Google and Copernic before finally finding that one useful sounding reference. It would seem that this is a rather obscure condition.

I even *blush* posted on the Toshiba Experts Forum but all they could suggest was to reinstall the OS using the recovery CD.

Cheers

Billy 8-{)