PDA

View Full Version : Wan Ip



mcatley
21-03-2003, 02:59 PM
Is there any easier ways to find out what my wan ip is. i know i can log on to my router to find out but that takes ages i want a quck way n e ideas (btw im conecting to the net using a Dynalink RTA210 Adsl router)

Any Ideas?

Chilling_Silence
21-03-2003, 03:15 PM
Click Start
-Run
Type cmd or command (Depending on your OS, try both)
a terminal window will open, type:
ipconfig /all

Hope that helps


Chilling_Silence

Terry Porritt
21-03-2003, 03:23 PM
Hmm... I have to use a dos window to do that and use a pipe because there is more than one screen of info: c:\> ipconfig /all | more

(Using Start-Run, the dos screen just flashes on and off for me)

That takes much longer than just using IE and http://192.168.1.1

(Using a RTA220)

mcatley
21-03-2003, 03:27 PM
that doesnt really help coz it only gives me my internal ip and gateway and things it doesnt give my actual internet (wan) ip. as the router holds it not my computer. i thought there might be some website that could tell you?

Stumped Badly
21-03-2003, 03:32 PM
http://www.whatismyip.com/

Stumped Badly
21-03-2003, 03:36 PM
This one gives you more info if you click the more button.
Guess what?
Two different sites, two different ip addresses?
How can that be?

Terry Porritt
21-03-2003, 04:44 PM
Dynalink uses Internet Explorer to access the router. 192.168.1.1 is their default IP for the router. If you type in the address http://192.168.1.1 ( or whatever you may have changed the default to) you will get the ADSL router control panel screen which gives you the external wan IP.
I cant see that the RTA210 is that different to a RTA220 in this regard.

Terry Porritt
21-03-2003, 04:53 PM
To Stumped. That site you gave gives you the ISPs IP that then connects via Clear or whathave you. It is not the local Wan IP.

Eg, at the moment my local Wan IP is 202.0.44.178 allocated dynamically by Clear, your site gives 203.97.2.240 which is Paradise, my ISP.

Hope that's "clear" ?

Terry Porritt
21-03-2003, 04:56 PM
Er.. I think I have those IPs and sources reversed :)