PDA

View Full Version : Ram and internet pages



Wai7
20-03-2003, 02:15 PM
When I upgraded my computer I went from 128 to 512 megs of RAM. Two questions, firstly why does the computer ancestor only have 480 megs? Secondly I thought that this would help at least to be able to hold more when pages open when I was surfing. This apparently does not happen. How can I increase the number of pages that I can hold open on with?

Chilling_Silence
20-03-2003, 03:20 PM
Have you checked that your motherboard supports that extra RAM, and just outa curiosity, what OS?

Graham L
20-03-2003, 04:39 PM
The video controller must be on the motherboard. Instead of having its own memory (which costs the manufacturer money) it uses some of the plugin memory (which costs you money :D). In fact it is using 32 MB of ram. 32+480 --> 512. There will be a BIOS settiong to adjust the amount of memory which it "borrows". But it won't really make much difference to the performance.

There will be a browser setting which controls the number of pages which are locally cached. Say what your browser is, and someone will tell you where to find the setting.