PDA

View Full Version : Power Supply Needed



nicnz
19-03-2003, 12:05 PM
Hi,

I've just put together a computer and was going to use a 300W ps, but the saleman said that I needed to get one which with a greater wattage.

The computer is an Athlon 2100 with 512 MB ram, 32MB Grphics Card, CDRW, 40GB HD.

I had a look but couldn't see any wattage recomendations in the manuals for the parts.
Now am I dreaming or have I just been upsold for no real reason?

CYaBro
19-03-2003, 01:16 PM
300W PSU should be fine for that setup.

Just need to watch it though if you decide to get a bigger faster better graphics card (Geforce 4 Ti etc) or another HDD, things like that.

This site might be of interest to you and others:

http://www6.tomshardware.com/howto/20021021/index.html

Susan B
19-03-2003, 02:16 PM
A 300W would have been sufficient with just the hardware that you have listed but bigger is always better if you add more hardware later. Just consider the PC "future-proofed". ;-) :-)

Out of interest, what size PSU did you get?