PDA

View Full Version : Is MAC and PC memory compatible ?



shift
17-03-2003, 02:21 PM
Sorry for the stupid question -

Ive got a PowerMac G3 that uses PC100 SDRAM ... can I use PC memoery for this ?

:/

Graham L
17-03-2003, 04:25 PM
Almost certainly. The early macs used proprietary memory (32 pin SIMMs, etc). If they call them PC100 memories, they'll be "standard". At least as standard as PCs. :D

People have troubles with incompatible PCxxx SDRAM memory in PCs.

Preferably take the machine in to the shop, and "buy if it works".

jos3080
18-03-2003, 04:49 PM
G3 Macs use the same memory as PCs. I use PC133 memory (Dick Smith) in my G3 Mac.
Cheers

shift
19-03-2003, 02:38 PM
Im also wondering
Ive got a 60 Gb ATA 100 drive in the G3 (blue & white)
The MAC can see it fine but sometimes it freezes and Im wondering if its because its ATA 100 ..

Also (sorry about the 20 q's)
If I have 2 disks, and I copy the system folder of the OS drive to the other disk and make the non OS drive to be the startup disk, will the mac
boot ?

jos3080
23-03-2003, 01:08 PM
Each ATA channel can have two devices, e.g. hard disks. Make sure that one is set to Master and the other one to Slave through a little jumper usually between ribbon cable and power cable connectors. After copying the System Folder to the second disk, you can then select either drive as start-up disk. The only rule is that you can only have one System Folder per disk.

For more Mac information see: www.NZMac.com and www.macguide.co.nz