PDA

View Full Version : Barcode scanning

kiwiwiseman
26-02-2003, 10:13 PM
Help, help, help!
Hi there lovely people
I am a student and have as an assignment to write an assignment on barcode scanning.
I have found lots on the subject from an advertising point of view but not too much about the technical side as well as anything on the history of this system.
I am actually attempting to find information on a particular system used by Hastings Pak-N-Save called shop and go.
Any information or links would be appreciated. Sales manager for Pak-N-Save has been of great assistance but I do not want to over stay my welcome by asking more and more questions.
Help, help, help!

Baldy
26-02-2003, 10:24 PM
Hi,

I got this link off Google (typed in Shop and Go Scanning)

http://www.symbol.com/uk/Solutions/case_study_safeway.html

Hope it is along the lines of what you are after

BALDY:-)

-=JM=-
26-02-2003, 10:29 PM
Are you wanting to know about the scanning of barcodes. Or how they came with the barcode method and the different types of barcodes that are available.

I did an assignment related to barcodes somehow last year. I can try and dig that up and see what resources I used if you like.

Babe Ruth
26-02-2003, 10:30 PM
kiwiwiseman,

Try using GOOGLE search with the strings "shop and go" "bar" "scan" there are a number of hits of relevence there.
e.g. ShopnGo1 (homepages.feis.herts.ac.uk/~2COM0002/ Current/Notes/usecasenotes.doc) ShopnGo2 (www.superquinn.ie/whats_new/press_room/ hot_off_the_press_new_swords.html) ShopnGo3 (www.cs.herts.ac.uk/~2com0002/uml/uml1.html)

etc...

Good luck
Cheers, Babe.

drys
26-02-2003, 11:12 PM